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DRAFT: SUBJECT TO CHANGE PRIOR TO COMMISSION ACTION

TEXAS TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

MINUTE ORDER Page 1 of 1

The Texas Transportation Commission (commission) finds it necessary to adopt amendments
to §17.3, relating to motor vehicle certificates of title, to be codified under Title 43, Texas
Administrative Code, Part 1.

The preamble and the adopted amendments, attached to this minute order as Exhibits A and
B, are incorporated by reference as though set forth at length verbatim in this minute order.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED by the commission that the amendments to 817.3 are
adopted and are authorized for filing with the Office of the Secretary of State.

The executive director is directed to take the necessary steps to implement the actions as
ordered in this minute order, pursuant to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act,
Government Code, Chapter 2001.

Submitted and reviewed by: Recommended by:
Director, Vehicle Titles and Registration Executive Director
Division
Minute Date

Number Passed
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Adoption Preamble
The Texas Department of Transportation (department) adopts
amendments to 817.3 concerning motor vehicle certificates of
title. The amendments to 817.3 are adopted without changes to
the proposed text as published in the March 16, 2007 issue of

the Texas Register (32 TexReg 1489) and will not be republished.

EXPLANATION OF ADOPTED AMENDMENTS

Transportation Code, 8520.023, provides that when a vehicle 1s
sold, the seller may submit a vehicle transfer notification form
notifying the department of the sale. Upon receipt, the
department updates the motor vehicle record to advise users of
the record that the vehicle has been sold and the date of sale.
Once the record is marked, state law creates a rebuttable
presumption that the transferee is the current owner of the
vehicle, and i1s subject to civil and criminal liability arising

out of use, operation, or abandonment of the vehicle.

until a new vehicle title changing ownership is applied for
through a county tax office, the department’s motor vehicle
records remain In the name of the last recorded owner. If the
vehicle is sold to a licensed motor vehicle dealer, the dealer
IS not required to title the vehicle until it is sold to a
retail purchaser. In addition, the vehicle may be sold to other

dealers through reassignment of the title. In some cases, the

OGC: 04/25/07 4:18 PM Exhibit A
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vehicle may be operated under the prior owner’s name for months
or even years. Each of these scenarios creates a problem when
the vehicle notification transfer has not been completed because
it 1s the prior owner who is notified when parking tickets or
toll violations are issued against the vehicle, 1If the vehicle
i1s abandoned, or is used iIn criminal activity, rather than the

current owner of the vehicle.

An 1ncreasing number of sellers are receiving notification of
violations for vehicles they have sold resulting In an iIncreased
volume of inquiries and complaints to the department. In part
because of the $5 notification fee charged by the department,
many sellers of vehicles do not notify the department of the
vehicle transfer and therefore are not afforded the protection

provided under the law.

Subsection 817.3(f), Department notification of second hand
vehicle transfers, is amended to eliminate payment of the $5 fee
for submission of a vehicle transfer notification. When the $5
fee was adopted in 1996, the costs associated with
implementation of the legislation and processing the
notifications was significantly higher than it i1s today. In
1996, the implementation costs included development, printing,
and distribution costs for a new transfer notification form,

revisions to the certificate of title record to include a

OGC: 04/25/07 4:18 PM Exhibit A



© 00 N o o A~ wWw N PP

N RN NN NN R B R B R R R R R
a A W N P O © 00 N O OO0 M W N L O

DRAFT: SUBJECT TO CHANGE PRIOR TO COMMISSION ACTION

Texas Department of Transportation Page 3 of 4
Vehicle Titles and Registration

transfer notice, and revision of department publications. Other
costs included manual processing, personnel costs and postage
for incomplete forms, filing, photocopy, and storage costs, and

processing and collection of fees.

Since 1996, the cost to process transfer notifications has
significantly decreased. The department contracts with a
private vendor for data extraction and validation of transfer
forms, data entry, some rejection functions for incomplete or
incorrect forms submitted, and scanning or imaging the transfer
notifications. The electronic capture of the form eliminates
the need to maintain and file hard copies of the forms, storage

space, and the time involved to retrieve copies on request.

Elimination of the fee may encourage more sellers to notify the
department, and a motor vehicle dealer to provide or submit
notifications to the department for their customers, thus
improving the integrity of the motor vehicle ownership records.
Elimination of the fee will also reduce staff processing times
for collection of the fee or rejection of the form when the fee

is not submitted.

COMMENTS

No comments on the proposed amendments were received.

OGC: 04/25/07 4:18 PM Exhibit A
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 8201.101,
which provides the Texas Transportation Commission with the
authority to establish rules for the conduct of the work of the
department, and more specifically, Transportation Code,
8501.131, which governs the titling of motor vehicles, and
Transportation Code, 8520.023 which allows the department to

adopt a fee for filing a notice of transfer.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Transportation Code, Chapter 501, and Transportation Code,

Chapter 520.

OGC: 04/25/07 4:18 PM Exhibit A



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

DRAFT: SUBJECT TO CHANGE PRIOR TO COMMISSION ACTION

Texas Department of Transportation Page 1 of 2
Vehicle Titles and Registration

SUBCHAPTER A. MOTOR VEHICLE CERTIFICATES OF TITLE
817.3. Motor Vehicle Certificates of Title.

(a) - (e) No Change.

(f) Department notification of second hand vehicle
transfers. A transferor of a motor vehicle may voluntarily make
written notification to the department of the sale of the
vehicle, In accordance with Transportation Code, Chapter 520,
Subchapter C, and this subsection.

(1) Notification form. The department will provide a
form for written notice of transfer. The form will include the:

(A) vehicle identification number of the vehicle;

(B) license plate number issued to the vehicle, 1If any;

(C) full name and address of the transferor;

(D) full name and address of the transferee;

(E) date the transferor delivered possession of the
vehicle to the transferee;

(F) signature of the transferor; and

(G) date the transferor signed the form.

(2) Records. On receipt of written notice of transfer
[and—a—$5-00Fee] from the transferor of a motor vehicle, the
department will mark its records to indicate the date of
transfer and will maintain a record of the information provided

on the written notice of transfer.

NOTE: Additions underlined Exhibit B
Deletions in [ ]
OGC: 04/25/07 4:22 PM
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(3) Ownership of transferred vehicle. After the date of
the transfer of the vehicle as shown in the department records,
the transferee of the vehicle i1s rebuttably presumed to be:

(A) the owner of the vehicle; and

(B) subject to civil and criminal liability arising out
of the use, operation, or abandonment of the vehicle, to the
extent that ownership of the vehicle subjects the owner of the
vehicle to criminal or civil liability under another provision
of the law.

(4) CertifTicate of title issuance. A certificate of
title will not be issued in the name of a transferee until the
transferee files an application for the certificate of title as
described iIn this section.

(g) - (h) No Change.

NOTE: Additions underlined Exhibit B
Deletions in [ ]
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