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Title VI Related Statutes
Nondiscrimination Statement

The Texas Department of Transportation, as a recipient of federal
financial assistance and under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
and related statutes, ensures that no person shall on the grounds of race,
religion (where the primary objective of the financial assistance is to
provide employment per 42 U.S.C. § 2000d-3), color, national origin,
sex, age or disability be excluded from participation in, be denied the
benefits of, or otherwise be subjected to discrimination under any
department programs or activities.



FOREWORD

To provide for the safe and efficient movement of people

and goods, the Texas Department of Transportation

(TxDOT) is charged by the Texas Legislature with

* Routing and issuing permits for the movement of
oversize and/or overweight vehicles and loads and

+ Investigating and enforcing permit and size and weight
rules and regulations.

To accomplish these charges, TxDOT adopted rules under:
43 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 28.

This handbook is available:

. On the Internet at www.txdot.gov
search “Publications Motor Carrier” and
. By contacting:

TxDOT Motor Carrier Division
125 E. 11th Street

Austin, TX 78701-2483
1-800/299-1700.



PURPOSE

The purpose of the Motor Carrier Handbook is to provide
general references and to familiarize the motor carrier
industry and general public with the applicable state rules
and regulations, policies and procedures that pertain to
oversize/overweight vehicles and loads in Texas.

The Motor Carrier Handbook also contains additional
information on temporary registration, motor carrier
safety, compliance and enforcement and state and federal
contacts.

This handbook provides information on Texas rules and
regulations regarding oversize/overweight vehicle
operations. Since the material in the handbook is
informational in nature, it should not be used to cite law.

For further information:

» Refer to the legal references cited throughout this
handbook.

»  Visit the TxXDOT Web site at: www.txdot.gov
search Motor Carrier.

e (Call the Motor Carrier Division at 1-800/299-1700.

Applications and forms are available on the TxXDOT Web
site at: www.txdot.gov search Motor Carrier Forms.
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Oversize/Overweight Vehicles
and Loads Permits
Permit Types

Overview. All vehicles and loads exceeding legal size
and/or weight limits set forth by Texas Transportation
Code (TRC), Chapters 621 - 623, must obtain permits
according to the following table:

Permit

TRC

Fee Description
Types Statute P
$60 Single-trip permit for the
plus highway movement of
maintenance oversize/overweight loads that
fee when load cannot be reasonably
General exceeds . . ;
. §§623.071- Jdismantled. Permit types include
Oversize/ 80,000 pounds. . . .
. . 623.082 | oil field drill pipe or drill collars
Overweight | (See Highway . .
Maintenance Fees stored in a pipe box that are
table in the Load overweight to be transported
Weight over farm-to-market and ranch-
subsection) to-market roads.
Single-trip or annual permits
Manufactured | Single-Trip $40 | §§623.091- for the movement of
Housing Annual $1,500 | 623.105 manufactured housing.
Permit for period of 30, 60 or
30-Day ’
60-Day $120 §§623.071- 90 days that allows the .
$180 transport of loads 13 feet wide
90-Day 623.082
Width $240 or less that cannot be
reasonably dismantled.
Permit for period of 30, 60 or
30-Day ’
60-Day $120 §§623.071- 90 days that allows the
$180 transporter of loads 110 feet
90-Day 623.082
Leneth $240 long or less that cannot be
& reasonably dismantled.
Annual permit for the transport
of loads that cannot be
reasonably dismantled and do not
Annual $4.000 §8623.071- fexceed 12 feet wide, 14 feet high,
Envelope ’ 623.082 110 feet long, and 120,000

pounds. These permits may be
issued to a specific vehicle or a
specific company.
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Permit Types
Permit TRC et
Fee Description
Types Statute
Annual permit issued to vehicles
hauling products (loads) that can
Base fee $75 be reasonably dismantled and that
plus exceed gross and/or axle weight
Over Axle/ Administrative limits. Two permit types
Over Gross fee $5 available; Agricultural - allows up
Weight plus a sliding | §§623.011-| to 12% above legal axle weight
Tolerances scale fee, 623.016 on one tandem, 10% on the
(HB2060/ based on the remaining axles but not more
HB1547) number of than 5% above GVW. Non-
counties agricultural - allows up to 10%
selected above legal axle weight but not
more than 5% above GVW.
Portable . . .
midne U [ fssenion | St
and Compatible 623.130 v por uriaing
and compatible cargo.
Cargo
Oil Well Servicing Single-trip and quarterly
Units .a1'1d 011' Well $31 or §§623.141— permlts for t'hfz movemept‘of
Drilling Rigs oil well servicing and drilling
. . calculated fee 623.150 .
(Single-Trip and vehicles.
Quarterly Permits)
oil Well Serv1.ng Annual permits for the
Units and Oil .
. . §§623.141- movement of oil well
Field Rig-up $52 per axle .. oy
623.150 servicing and drilling
Trucks (Annual -
. vehicles.
Permit)
Annual permit for the
Mobile Cranes $100 §623.181, movement of unladen lift
(Annual Permit) §623.182 equipment motor vehicles

(motor cranes).
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Permit TRC e
Fee Description
Types Statute
Mobile Cranes Single-trip and quarterly
(Single-Trip $31 or §§623.191-| permits for the movement of
and Quarterly | calculated fee 623.200 | unladen lift equipment motor
Permits) vehicles (motor cranes).
Annual Water $270 plus Annual permit for the
Well and VP §§623.071- transportation of farm
highway .
Implements of . 623.082 equipment or water well
maintenance fee o .
Husbandry drilling equipment.
Annual permit for the
transport of cylindrically
Hage(n‘zﬁg“al $10 §623.017 | shaped bales of hay that
exceed legal width up to 12
feet wide.
Annual permit for the transportation
Utility Poles o ofqhhtypo les,requnf?dforthe
(Annual $120 §§622.051-] maintenance of electric power
Permit) 622.053 transmission/distribution lines.
¢ Length not to exceed 75 feet
including vehicle.
§§623.210- Single-trip penmt issued by the.: Port
Port of 623219 of Brownsville, under special
Brownsville $80 ’ authority from TxDOT, for the
Port Authority movement of oversize/overweight
. §§623.050- . . .
Permit 623.230 vehicles carrying cargo on specified
’ roadways at/near the port..
Single-trip permit issued by
the Victoria County
L Navigation District, under
V‘;t};’ilf‘ ;f;‘rfty 630 §§623.230-]  special authority from
Savie . 623.239 | TxDOT, for the movement of
District Permit . . .
oversize/overweight vehicles
carrying cargo on specified
roadways at/near the port.
Single-trip permit issued by
Chambers County, under special
authority from TxDOT, for the
Chambers $30 §§623.250- movement of
County Permit 623259 oversize/overweight vehicles
carrying cargo on specified
roadways
in the county.
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Permit Applications and Forms

To submit an oversize/overweight permit application
electronically, or to download a form, go to the TxXDOT
Web site at www.txdot.gov and search “Motor Carrier
Forms.” Following is a list of permit applications and
forms:

10
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Permit Forms Form #
Affidavit of Exception - Motor Crane/Well Service Unit 204
Annual Oversize/Overweight Envelope Permit, 301
Application/Renewal
Annual Oversize/Overweight Envelope Permit, Cash 301c
Application
Annual Oversize/Overweight Exempt Envelope Permit,
L 301a
Application/Renewal
Annual Permits, Application/Renewal
- Annual Well Servicing Unit
- Annual Implement of Husbandry
- Annual Rig-Up Truck 300
- Annual Mobile Crane
- Annual Water Well Drilling
- Annual Fracing Trailer
- Annual Manufactured Housing
Annual Permits, Cash Application/Renewal 302¢
General Permit Facsimile Application
- Single Trip and 106
- Temporary Registration
General Permit Cash Payment Facsimile Application 106¢
General Permit Multiple Load Sheet 103
Manufactured Housing Permit Facsimile Application 102
Manufactured Housing Permit — Cash Payment Facsimile 102¢
Application
Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance
. o 1751
Permit Application
Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance 1753

Permit Bond

11
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Permit Forms Form #
Permit Movement Conditions and Curfews -
001
Supplement Sheet
Pre-Approved House Move Route Form 109
Procedures for Time Permits 304
Procedures for Annual Oversize/Overweight Permits 304a
Ready-Mix Concrete & Concrete Pump Truck
1382
Surety Bond
Ready-Mix Concrete & Concrete Pump Truck 1382a
Surety Bond Certification
Ready-Mix Concrete & Concrete Pump Truck Surety Bond 1383
Amendment
Route Inspection/Permit Application 306a
Shipper Certificate of Weight 2280
Specific Time Permits, Application/Renewal
- 30/60/90 Day Width
- 30/60/90 Day Length 302a
- Annual Hay Permit
- Annual Pole Permit
Specific Time Permits, Cash Application/Renewal 303c¢
Solid Waste and Recyclable Materials Surety Bond 1575
Solid Waste and Recyclable Materials Surety Bond
. . 1576
Certification
Solid Waste and Recyclable Materials Surety Bond
1577
Amendment
Super Heavy Application Packet 305
Superheavy or Oversize Permit Bond 439
Temporary Registration Facsimile Application 1710
Texas Self-Issue Application and Permit to Move Oversize or 1700
Overweight Equipment or Loads Over State Highways
Western Regional (WASHTO) Permit Application 400
Weight Supplement Sheet for Annual Envelope Permits 300a

12
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Permit Office
Days and Hours of Operation

Days Hours Calls*/Applications
Accepted
Monday - Friday 6 am. -6 p.m. 6 am. - 5:45 p.m.
Saturday 6 am. -2 pm. 6 am. - 1:45 p.m.
Sunday Closed

* The MCD telephone system will only accept calls between these times.

Closures. The TxDOT Motor Carrier Permit Office is
closed on Sundays and the following holidays:

* New Year’s Day

* Memorial Day

* Independence Day

* Labor Day
* Thanksgiving Day and the Friday following
Thanksgiving Day

* Christmas Eve Day and Christmas Day

+ Saturday before any holiday listed above when the
holiday falls on a Monday, except for the Saturday
before Christmas Eve Day when Christmas Eve falls
on a Monday

+ Saturday after any holiday listed above when the
holiday falls on a Friday, except for the Saturday after
Thanksgiving Day and the Saturday after Christmas
Day when Christmas Day falls on a Friday

 at other times deemed necessary by TxDOT’s
administration, such as in the case of emergency
weather conditions.

Route Obstructions

It is the driver's responsibility to detour all overhead
structures and contact any utility company or agency to
raise or move utility lines or traffic devices.

13
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The permit holder is responsible for providing the appropriate
advance notice as required by each entity.

Any damage to a bridge, underpass, or similar structure that is
caused by the height os a vehicle/load is the responsibility of the
owner of the vehicle. TRC §621.207

Movement Restrictions

Daylight movement. A permitted vehicle may be moved
only during daylight hours unless it meets required criteria
for night movement. Daylight is 30 minutes before sunrise
to 30 minutes after sunset.

Night movement. A permitted vehicle may be granted

night movement when it

+ is only overweight on any state maintained road;

s traveling on an interstate highway and does not
exceed 10 feet wide and 100 feet long, with legal front
and rear overhangs;

» is overweight and meets the criteria in the second
bulleted item;

* is a mobile crane not exceeding 10 feet 6 inches wide, 14
feet high, or 95 feet long on any state maintained road or

+ s a self-propelled oil well servicing unit not exceeding
nine feet wide on any state maintained road.

TxDOT may grant an exception allowing for night
movement to certain loads in cases of emergency, such as
for movement of utility poles to restore or prevent
interruption of electrical service, or equipment needed to
clear and restore railroad tracks in case of a train
derailment. These emergency loads must have front and
rear escorts.

Reduced visibility. Movement is prohibited when
visibility is reduced to less than two-tenths of one mile or
the road surface is hazardous due to:

14
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» weather conditions such as wind, rain, ice, sleet, or
SNOW; or
* highway maintenance or construction work.

Heavy traffic conditions. TxDOT may limit the hours for
travel on certain routes because of heavy traffic
conditions.

Holiday restrictions. Loads exceeding 14 feet wide, 16
feet high and 110 feet long may not be transported on New
Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day,
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

For manufactured housing movement restrictions, see
subsection titled, “Manufactured Housing, Movement
Restrictions.”

Vehicle Registration

Motor carriers must have proper vehicle registration. This
includes Texas license plates that indicate the permitted
vehicle is registered for maximum legal gross weight or
the maximum weight the vehicle can transport, Texas
temporary vehicle registration, out-of-state license plates
apportioned for travel in Texas and foreign commercial
vehicles registered under Texas annual registration. Visit
the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles at
www.txdmv.gov for more information.

Permit Application

A permit may be obtained by Internet, fax, telephone,
mail, Remote Permit System (RPS) or a third-party service
provider (wire services).

15
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Required information. To reduce the time it takes to
receive a permit, have the following required information
readily available before you apply:

1.
2.

Customer permit account number
Payment type: TxDOT-approved credit cards
(MasterCard, American Express, Discover, VISA), pre-
established escrow account (with TxDOT Finance) or
FirstPay. A service charge is applied to each credit card
transaction
Current truck and trailer information including:

o Year and make

o Vehicle identification number (VIN)

o License number and name of issuing state
Complete load description
Load dimensions including:

o Width

o Height

o Length (including length of truck, trailer, and

overhang)
o Overhang (exceeding four feet rear or three feet front)
o Gross weight (when applicable: axle weights,
axle spacings, tire size)

Route information including the most practical route
that will accommodate the load from an exact point of
origin to an exact point of destination on the state
highway system
Permit movement date (must include enough time to
make the move)

For required information on manufactured housing,
modular homes, industrialized houses and industrialized
buildings see subsection titled, “Manufactured Housing,
Application Requirements.”

Submitting by Internet. Permit applications are accepted
via the Internet 24 hours a day, seven days a week. By

16
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using the Internet, applicants can avoid telephone hold

time, filling out forms and possible delays in receiving

permits. Applications will be processed during normal

business hours.

To obtain a customer account number, logon and/or

password:

* E-mail the Motor Carrier Division at
mcd-respond@txdot.gov,

* Type “CPS Logon” in the subject line and

* Include the company’s name, address and customer
account number (if known) and the contact’s name,
telephone number, fax number and e-mail address in
the body of your e-mail.

After obtaining a customer account number and logon ID,
go to www.txdot.gov and select “Get an
oversize/overweight permit?” from the “How Do I...”
drop down search list then select “Online Permits (CPS).”

Permit forms. Forms may be obtained from
www.txdot.gov search Motor Carrier Forms.

By fax. Fax applications are accepted 24 hours a day,
seven days a week. Complete the appropriate permit
application form and fax it to the number indicated on the
form. Fax permit applications are processed during normal
business hours.

By telephone. Permit applications are accepted via the
telephone during normal business hours. Prior to calling,
gather all required information (see “Required
Information” in this section). Call 1-800/299-1700 (for
official record, all calls are recorded), options 1, 7, 1.

The following process is followed for applications
submitted via the telephone.

17
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1. A permit application specialist enters the required
information into the online permit system.

2. The applicant is given a permit ID number.

3. The application is placed into the permit system in the
order it was received together with other permit
applications received by phone, fax and Internet.

4. A permit specialist processes the application and
verifies the route.

5. An official permit is delivered to the customer by
method indicated at the time of application (fax, email,
cash office, etc.).

By Remote Permit System (RPS) program. The TxDOT
RPS program allows customers to process their own
oversize/overweight permit applications, within specified
size/weight limits, over the Internet, 24 hours a day, seven
days a week. Customers participating in the Remote
Permitting System must meet a minimum accuracy rating
each month to remain in the program.

To apply for a permit using the RPS program, a customer
must have Internet access and must enter into an
agreement with TxDOT as follows:

* The customer contacts TxDOT to obtain the RPS
program description/instructions (can be done by letter
or by telephone 1-800/299-1700).

« TxDOT and customer negotiate maximum dimensions.

*  TxDOT reviews the maximum dimensions to
determine eligibility and drafts a contract.

* The customer and the TxDOT Motor Carrier Division
director sign the contract.

« TxDOT provides permit process training to the
customer and employees.

» TxDOT provides a district permit map and instructs
customers regarding map use and how to post changes
and restrictions.

The training process also includes routing, special

conditions, approvals, the quality assurance process and

18



Oversize/Overweight Vehicles and Loads Permits

any other items that may be specific to the customer.
Training lasts up to four weeks, depending on the level of
permit knowledge the customer already has.

When training is complete, the customer is assigned a
logon ID and password to sign on to the permit system
and to begin issuing permits.

For additional information on the RPS program, contact us
at 1-800/299-1700, options 1, 4.

Proof of permit. The original permit, a fax copy of the
permit, or a TxXDOT computer-generated permit must be
kept/carried in the cab of the vehicle for which it was
issued until the day after the permit’s expiration date.

Amendments, Voids and Refunds

A permit fee will not be refunded after the permit number
has been issued unless such refund is necessary to correct
an error made by a permit specialist.

A permit may be amended for the following reasons:

* Vehicle breakdown;

* Changing the intermediate points in an approved
permit route;

+ Extending the expiration date due to weather or
breakdown conditions which would cause the move to
be delayed;

+ Changing the route origin and destination can only be
done before the start date as listed on the permit;

* Size of the load (may only be changed before the start
date of the permit and only when the route will not be
affected by the size change. If the permit has started,
or the size change affects the route, a new permit must
be obtained).

19
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For more information. Visit the TxDOT Web site at
www.txdot.gov (search “Motor Carrier”).

Size/Weight Limits and Escort Requirements

Load Width

Width is measured from outside points of the widest
extremities, excluding safety devices. Legal width limit is
8-1/2 feet.

Route and Traffic Studies. A vehicle operator carrying a
load exceeding 20 feet or wider must physically inspect a
proposed route and certify to TxDOT by letter or fax that
the overwidth load can safely negotiate the route.

Permit/Movement Conditions | Maximum Width (in feet)
30-day, 60-day, or 90-day permit 13
On holidays 14
On interstate highways 16
Without route and traffic studies 20
New storage tanks 34%*
New houses 34%*
Manufactured housing Unlimited
Portable building units Unlimited

* A permit will not be issued for an existing house or storage tank that
exceeds 40 feet overall width, unless TxDOT grants an exception based on a
route and traffic study.

Escort Vehicle requirements. One escort is required for all
loads exceeding 14 feet up to 16 feet wide with the exception
of manufactured housing and portable building units.

20



Oversize/Overweight Vehicles and Loads Permits

Two escorts are required for all loads exceeding 16 feet
wide, with the exception of manufactured housing and
portable building units.

The escort must precede the load on a two-lane highway

to warn oncoming traffic of the approaching overwidth
load.

The escort must follow the load on a roadway of four or

more lanes to warn approaching traffic of the overwidth
load.

Load Height

Height refers to loaded height and extends from the
roadbed to the highest point of the load. Legal height limit
is 14 feet.

Overheight load. A vehicle operator carrying a load 19
feet or higher must physically inspect a proposed route
and certify to TxDOT by letter or fax that the overheight
load can safely negotiate all power, communication and
cable television lines and all other low vertical
obstructions.

Permit/Conditions Types Maximum Height (in feet)

On holidays 16

Without route and traffic studies 18 feet, 11 inches

Escort vehicle requirements. One front escort is required
for loads exceeding 17 feet in height.

The escort must be equipped with a height pole to
accurately measure overhead obstructions.

21
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Front and rear escorts are required for loads exceeding 18
feet in height. The front escort vehicle must be equipped
with a height pole to accurately measure overhead

obstructions.

Load Length
The following table lists the legal length for each type of
vehicle or combination of vehicles and the maximum

length permitted.

Length Permitted

study and route certification by applicant on file

. 99 Legal Length [Maxi Length
Permit/Condition Type eg.a cng axm.lum s
(in feet) (in feet)
Truck or single vehicle 45 75
Truck and trailer combination 65 Unlimited
Truck-tractor Unlimited Unlimited
Overall length Unlimited
Truck-tractor
L N/A
combination ]
Trailer 59
Single unit 59
Semitrailer N/A
Double bottom 28-1/2
Front overhang 3 25
Rear overhang 4 30
Maximum overall length Unlimited
Maximum length permitted without route and traffic 125

Maximum length permitted on holidays

110

22
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Overlength load. The overall length (including an
overhang) must be listed on the permit and the length of
the overhang must be listed separately on the permit.

Escort vehicle requirements. Loads exceeding 110 feet,
but not exceeding 125 feet long and 20 feet front and/or

rear overhang, require one escort.

Loads exceeding 125 feet in length require front and rear
escorts.

Vehicle Length Diagrams

Length limits for vehicles and vehicle combinations.
TRUCK

14— 45-feet maximum ——»;

The length of a single vehicle, other than a truck tractor,
may not exceed 45 feet.

23
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Length Requirements for Truck Tractor

U
0

& No limit on truck
«— —>
tractor length

:
[}
[}
There is no length limitation for a truck tractor.

Truck and Trailer Combination

Y

1 65 feet maximum +

A

4-foot
overhang

A truck and trailer combination may not exceed 65 feet in
overall length.

Truck and Semitrailer Combination

1 65 feet maximum

A

v

i
_@ & @ ) o) &

A truck and semitrailer combination may not exceed 65
feet in length.
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Truck and Pole Trailer Combination

_‘_\_ .
Y

1 65 feet maximum !

overhang

L

A truck and pole trailer combination may not exceed 65
feet in length.

Truck Tractor, Semitrailer, Trailer Axle
Converter and Semitrailer Combination

§<—| 28.5 feet maximum l—}i «— 28.5 feet maximum —>

i
40

& @@} @ ) N2 @
1 | Trailer axle

No length ! converter
limit on tractor '

Each semitrailer and trailer operated in a truck tractor,
semitrailer, trailer combination is limited to 28-1/2 feet.
There is no length limitation for a truck tractor or overall
length limitation for this combination.

25
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Truck Tractor, Semitrailer Combination

<— No length limit —>
on tractor i<

159 feet maximum —— >i

0o/

v

1< i No overall length limit

A semitrailer operated in a truck tractor, semitrailer
combination is limited to 59 feet. There is no length
limitation for a truck tractor or overall length limitation for
this combination. Length limitation on a semitrailer is
described in terms of the distance from the kingpin to
rearmost axle or end of semitrailer.

26



Oversize/Overweight Vehicles and Loads Permits

Load Weight

Legal weight is based on the number of axles and the
distance between axles on a vehicle or vehicle
combination, also known as the federal Bridge Gross
Weight Formula. The weight of groups of two or more
axles must be checked against the bridge formula to
ensure that they meet federal weight limit requirements
and that the allowable gross and axle weights correlate
with the spacing and number of axles to prevent severe
overstressing of highway bridges and roads.

Additional Definitions. The following terms are used in

this section:

* Drive axles - The axles that power a vehicle.

* Steering axle - The front axle of the truck.

* Tandem axle weight - The total weight transmitted to
the road by two or more consecutive axles whose
centers may be included between two parallel
transverse vertical planes spaced more than 40 inches
and not more than 96 inches apart, extending across
the full width of the vehicle.

* Trunion axle - Two individual axles mounted in the
same transverse plane, with four tires on each axle,
that are connected to a pivoting wrist pin that allows
each individual axle to oscillate in a vertical plane to
provide for constant and equal weight distribution on
each individual axle at all times during movement.

* Trunion axle group - Two or more consecutive
trunion axles whose centers are at least 54 inches apart
and are individually attached to (or articulated from, or
both) the vehicle by a weight equalizing suspension
system.
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Maximum Legal Weights

* Gross weight may not exceed 80,000 pounds.

+ Single axle weight may not exceed 20,000 pounds.

* Tandem axle weight may not exceed 34,000 pounds.

*  Weight for a tri-tandem axle group cannot exceed
42,000 pounds.

Permit Fees

Compliance with bridge formula weight limits may
require axle weights lower than the standard legal weight
limits. It may also require a gross weight lower than the
standard 80,000 1bs. legal gross weight limit.

Highway Maintenance Fees

Gross Weight| Highwa .
. g . ghway Permit Total
in Pounds | Maintenance
80,001-120,000 $150 $60 $210
120,001-160,000 $225 $60 $285
160,001-200,000 $300 $60 $360
200,001- more* $375 $60 $435
* Weight exceeding 200,000 pounds. In addition to the $375 highway
maintenance fee, vehicles exceeding 200,000 pounds must also pay a
vehicle supervision fee according to the following table.
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Vehicle Supervision Fees

For loads exceeding 254,300 lbs. GVW and for loads
exceeding 200,000 Ibs. GVW with total axle spacing less
than 95 feet, a vehicle supervision fee will be charged in
addition to the permit and highway maintenance fees.

Criteria Vehicle Supervision Fee

200,001-254,300 pounds total and at least
95 feet overall axle spacings and not
exceeding the maximum permittable
weight on any axle or axle group

$35

200,001-254,300 pounds total and less
than 95 feet overall axle spacings, or over
the maximum permittable weight on any $500
axle or axle group, or over 254,300
pounds gross weight

For multiple permits ordered within 30
days of approval $35
(For super heavy process only)

When no bridges are crossed

(For super heavy process only) $100

For more information regarding vehicle supervision fees, contact
TxDOT at 1-800/299-1700.

How to Use the Federal Bridge Formula
Follow the procedures and definitions below to use the
Permissible Weight Table, which is based on the federal
Bridge Gross Weight Formula.

» Steer axle — The front axle of the truck.

* Inner bridge distance — The distance from the
center of the first drive axle to the center of the last
trailer axle.

* Outer bridge distance — The distance from the
center of the steering axle of the truck to the center
of the last trailer axle.
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Checking a Vehicle - Example

The following is an example of how to use the Permissible
Weight Table to determine legal weight. A tractor-
semitrailer combination is used to illustrate a bridge
formula check.

@

1. Determine the inner bridge distance and number of
axles within the inner bridge. 35 feet on 4 axles

2. Determine the outer bridge distance and number of
axles within the outer bridge. 51 feet on 5 axles

3. On the Permissible Weight Table find the number
in the “Distance in Feet” column that corresponds
with the outer bridge distance. Follow this line
across horizontally to the column that corresponds
with the number of axles within the outer bridge.
This is the maximum legal weight for the
vehicle/vehicle combination. 80,000 pounds

4. Find the number in the “Distance in Feet” column
that corresponds with the inner bridge distance.
Follow this line across horizontally to the column
that corresponds with the number of axles within
the inner bridge. This is the legal weight for the
inner bridge. 69,150 pounds

5. Subtract the inner bridge permissible weight from
the outer bridge permissible weight. This will give
the maximum allowable weight for the steer axle.
(Note: No axle may exceed the manufacturer’s tire

rating.) 80,000 — 69,150 = 10,850 pounds
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Permissible Weight Guide

]zlils?::te 2 axles | 3 axles | 4 axles | 5 axles | 6 axles | 7 axles
4 34,000
5 34,000
6 34,000
7 34,000
8 34,000 34,000
8+ 38,000 42,000
9 39,000 | 42,500
10 40,000 43,500
11 44,500
12 45,000 50,000
13 45,500 50,500
14 46,500 51,500
15 47,500 52,000
16 48,000 52,500 58,000
17 48,500 53,500 58,500
18 49,900% | 54,000 59,000
19 51,400% | 54,500 | 60,000
20 52,800*% | 55,500 60,500 66,000
21 54,000*% | 56,000 61,000 66,500
22 54,000* | 56,500 61,500 67,000
23 54,000* | 57,500 62,500 68,000
24 54,000 | 58,700% | 63,000 | 68,500 | 74,000
25 54,500 | 59,650*% | 63,500 69,000 74,500
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Distance

in Feet 2 axles | 3 axles | 4 axles | 5 axles | 6 axles | 7 axles
26 55,500 | 60,600* | 64,000 69,500 75,000
27 56,000 | 61,550* | 65,000 70,000 75,500
28 57,000 | 62,500* | 65,500 71,000 76,500
29 57,500 | 63,450* | 66,000 71,500 77,000
30 58,500 | 64,000* | 66,500 72,000 77,500
31 59,000 | 65,350* | 67,500 72,500 78,000
32 60,000 | 66,300* | 68,500 73,000 78,500
33 67,250* | 68,500 74,000 79,000
34 68,200* | 69,000 74,500 80,000
35 69,150* | 70,000 75,000
36 70,100* | 70,500 75,500
37 71,050* | 71,050 76,000
38 72,000* | 72,000*% | 77,000
39 72,000 * | 72,500 77,500
40 72,000 * | 73,000 78,000
41 72,000 * | 73,500 78,500
42 72,000 * | 74,000 79,000
43 72,000 * | 75,000 80,000
44 72,000 * | 75,500
45 72,000 76,000
46 72,500 76,500
47 73,500 77,500
48 74,000 78,000
49 74,500 78,500
50 75,500 79,000
51 76,000 80,000

* These figures were carried forward from Article 6701d-11, §5(a)(4)
when Senate Bill 89 of the 64th Legislature amended it on December
16, 1974. The amendment provided that axle configurations and
weights that were lawful as of that date would continue to be legal
under the increased weight limits.

+ This figure applies only to an axle spacing greater than eight feet,
but less than nine feet.
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Permissible weights are based on the federal Bridge Gross
Weight Formula enacted by Congress in 1975 to protect
U.S. bridges (23 UCS §127 and 23CFR §658.17). A
weight-to-length ratio is the basis of the formula:

W=500[(LN/(N-1))+12N+36]

W = overall gross weight on any group of two or more
consecutive axles rounded to the nearest 500 Ibs.

L = distance in feet between the outer axles of any group
of two or more consecutive axles

N = the number of axles in the group under consideration

Load per tire. No motor vehicle may be operated with tires
that carry a weight greater than the manufacturer’s tire load
rating, unless the vehicle is being operated under the terms
of a special permit issued by TxDOT. TRC §621.101

Steering/Single Axle Load Limits
The formula below determines the load limit for a steering
or single axle with only two tires:
Number of Tires x Tire Tread Width (inches) x Tire Load
Limit (PSI) = Axle Load Limit
The following table gives the axle load limits for 650
PSI: Axle Load Limits for 650 PSI Tires

Number of . . Tire Size | Tire Load | Axle Load
Tires | e Size (in Limit Limit
(per axle) (in inches) millimeters) PSI (in pounds)
2 10 245-265 650 13,000
2 11 270-290 650 14,300
2 12 295-315 650 15,600
2 13 320-340 650 16,900
2 14 345-365 650 18,200
2 15 370-390 650 19,500
2 16 395-415 650 20,800
2 17 420-440 650 22,100
2 18 445-465 650 23,400
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Axle Load Limits with Permit

Tire Size of Tires (Metric Sizes in Millimeters)

Load

Limit
(in 10:00 11:00 12:00 13:00 14:00 15:00 16:00

pounds)| 245- | @70- | @9s- | @20- | Gas- | G70- | (39

PSI 265) 290) 315) 340) 365) 390) 415)
650 13,000 | 14,300 | 15,600 | 16,900 § 18,200 § 19,500 § 20,800
850 17,000 | 18,700 § 20,400 | 22,100 § 23,800

* The maximum that can be permitted on a single axle is 25,000
pounds without performing a route study and bridge analysis. 850
pounds per inch of tire width can only be used when permitting oil
well servicing units and mobile cranes under 43 Texas Transportation
Code, §3 623.142, 623.181, and 623.192.

Escort Vehicle Requirements

Dimension

Vehicle Size
Exceeding

Type of Escort

Exceeding 14
feet up to 16 feet

Front — two-lane highway

Rear — divided highway

Width
Exceeding Front and rear — all roads unless TxDOT
16 feet grants an exception
Exceeding . . .
17 feet Front — equipped with height pole
Height . Front and rear — all roads unless TxDOT
Exceeding .
18 feet grants an exception
Front — equipped with height pole
Exceeding Front — two-lane highway
110 feet
up to 125 feet Rear — divided highway
Exceeding Front and rear — all roads unless TxXDOT
125 feet grants an exception
Length Exceeding Front — two-lane highway
20 feet front
overhang Rear — four or more lane highway
Exceeding Rear — two-lane highway
20 feet rear
overhang Rear — four or more lanes highway
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Loads that exceed more than one legal dimension

When a load is over in two dimensions that require an
escort, front and rear escorts are required.

Example. If a load is 16 feet wide and 112 feet long, it will
require one escort for the width and one escort for the length.

Exception. If a load exceeds 110 feet, but does not exceed
125 feet in length and has a rear overhang exceeding 20
feet, only one escort is required.

For manufactured housing escort requirements, see
subsection titled, “Manufactured Housing, Escort
Requirements for Manufactured Housing.”

Equipment requirements for escort vehicles.
General equipment requirements for escort vehicles per
TAC §28.11(k)(7) and (8).

* Lights. Must have two flashing amber lights or one
rotating amber beacon of not less than eight inches in
diameter fixed to the roof of the escort vehicle. The
light must be visible from all sides of the escort
vehicle.

+ Signs. Must display a sign on either the roof of the
vehicle or the front and/or rear of the vehicle with the
words “OVERSIZE” or “WIDE LOAD.” The sign
must be:

o Size - at least five feet, but not more than seven
feet in length and at least 12 inches, but not more
than 18 inches in height,

o Color - yellow background with black lettering,

o Size of lettering - at least eight inches high, but not
more than 10 inches high with a brush stroke at
least 1.4 inches wide,

o Visibility - visible from the front and rear of the

vehicle while escorting the permit load. The sign
must not be used at any other time.
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* Radio. Must maintain two-way communications with
the permitted vehicle and other escort vehicles
involved with the movement of the permitted vehicle.

* Height pole. When acting as the front escort vehicle
for loads exceeding 17 feet in height, must be
equipped with a height pole made of nonconductive
metal to accurately measure overhead obstructions.

* Motorcycle. Only an official law enforcement
motorcycle may be used as a primary escort vehicle
for a permitted vehicle traveling within the limits of an
incorporated city. The motorcycle must be operated by
a highway patrol officer, sheriff or duly authorized
deputy, or a municipal police officer.

Escort vehicle must be a single unit with a gross weight
(GVW) of not less than 1,000 pounds nor more than
10,000 pounds.

General Permits

(TRC §§623.071-623.082)

A permit can be issued for the movement of non-divisible
loads that exceed legal size and/or weight limits. Carriers
must have Texas Motor Carrier Registration, Unified
Carrier Registration (UCR), or a $10,000 bond on file
with TxDOT.

Permit Fees
* Single-trip general permit: $60 (+ any applicable
weight fees if exceeding legal weight)
« Annual envelope permit: $4000

Single-trip permit. A single-trip permit is for a single
continuous movement not to exceed 10 days.

Annual envelope permit. This permit allows for
unlimited movement on state-maintained roads in the
State of Texas for one calendar year.

36



Oversize/Overweight Vehicles and Loads Permits

There are two types of annual envelope permits, vehicle
specific and company specific.

* Vehicle Specific — Issued to a specific vehicle and can
only be used for transport of loads by that vehicle.
This permit is delivered to customers by mail, fax or e-
mail.

» Company specific — Issued to a company and can
only be used by one vehicle at a time by that company.
The permit will be sent to the permitted customer by
registered mail or at the customer’s request and
expense, by overnight delivery service. This permit
may not be duplicated. This permit will only be
replaced if:

o The customer did not receive original permit within
seven business days after its date of issuance;

o A request for replacement is submitted to the
department within 10 business days after its date of
issuance; and

o The request for replacement is accompanied by a
notarized statement signed by a principle or officer
of the permitted company acknowledging that the
company understands the permit may not be
duplicated and that if the original if located, the
company must return either the original or
replacement permit to the department.

TxDOT will deny a request for replacement of a permit if
the department verifies the permit customer received the
original.

TxDOT will not replace lost, misplaced, damaged,
destroyed or otherwise unusable permits. A new permit is
required.
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Manufactured Housing

(TRC §§623.091-623.105)

Carriers must have Texas Motor Carrier Registration,
Unified Carrier Registration (UCR), or must be registered
with the Texas Department of Housing and Community
Affairs.

During the transportation of a manufactured house, affix
the permitee’s registration or motor carrier number to the
rear of the manufactured house. The number is to have
letters and numbers that are at least eight-inches high.

Permit Fees. Manufactured housing is eligible for single-
trip and annual permits.

* Single-trip manufactured housing permit: $40

* Annual manufactured housing permit: $1,500

Single-trip permit. A single-trip permit is for single
continuous movement not to exceed five days.

During the transportation of a manufactured house, affix the
permitee’s registration or motor carrier number to the rear
of the manufactured house. The number is to have letters
and numbers that are at least eight-inches high. To move the
multi-section manufactured house as one unit on a set of
house moving dollies requires a permit for a house move.

TxDOT considers any returnable undercarriage, temporary
chassis system, or a single manufactured house frame to
be component parts. For that reason, they qualify for a
manufactured housing permit.

A stack of manufactured housing frames requires a general
oversize permit, which costs $60. The applicant must have
Texas Motor Carrier Registration, Unified Carrier
Registration or must have a current Superheavy or
Oversize Permit Bond on file. The stacked load must not
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exceed legal height or weight. The bottom frame or
transporter must have either a regular Texas trailer license,
or a 72/144-hour temporary vehicle registration.

Annual permit. A manufactured housing annual permit is
for the transportation of a manufactured house from a
manufacturing facility to a temporary storage location, not
to exceed 20 miles from the point of manufacture.

Measurements. The width of a manufactured house
includes any roof or eaves extension or overhang on either
side.

The height extends from the roadbed to the highest point
of the manufactured house.

The overall combined /ength of the manufactured house
and the towing vehicle includes the length of the hitch or
towing device.

The weight must be /egal.

Identification numbers. The applicant must complete the
application and include the manufactured house’s Housing
and Urban Development (HUD) label number, Texas Seal
number, or the complete serial number of the unit being
moved.

* HUD label number. A HUD label number is required
on all houses built after June 15, 1976.

e Texas Seal number. A house built after June 15, 1976,
that does not have a HUD label number must apply to the
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs for
a Texas seal number if the house is being sold.

* Identification or serial number. Pre-HUD years
(before June 15, 1976) require a complete serial number.
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Application Requirements. The following information is
required when applying for a manufactured housing single-trip

permit:

Applicant name, address, phone number, account
number

When moving a manufactured house, a modular home,
an industrialized house, or an industrialized building as
defined in Occupations Code 1201.001, 1202.002 and
1202.003 include the following:

(0]

Manufactured house HUD label number, Texas
seal number on houses manufactured after June 15,
1976, complete identification or serial number for
houses manufactured before June 15,1976

Name of the owner of the manufactured house
Location (physical address) from where the house
is being moved unless the house is being moved
from a dealer or factory

Location (physical address) to where the house is
being moved unless the house is being moved to a
dealer or factory

Overall length, width and height of the house and
towing vehicle in combination
Applicant’s moving/operating authority number.

Escort Vehicle and Equipment
Requirements for Manufactured Housing

Escort Vehicle Requirements

Dimensions
. Type of Highwa Type of Escort
Exceeding yP ghway yp
. Divided Rear
16 feet wide, but not
exceeding 18 feet wide Non-divided Front
18 feet wide All Front and rear
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Two sections of a multi-section manufactured home or two
single section manufactured homes may be moved in
convoy and share the required escorts if the distance
between the two units does not exceed 1,000 feet. Each
unit requires its own permit.

Lights. A manufactured house over 12 feet wide is to have
one rotating amber beacon not less than eight inches in
size mounted somewhere on the roof at the rear of the
manufactured house.

Instead of a roof beacon, two five-inch flashing amber
lights may be mounted approximately six feet from ground
level at the rear corners of the manufactured house.

The towing vehicle is required to have one rotating amber
beacon of not less that eight inches in size mounted on the
top of the cab. These beacons are to be operational and
luminous during any permitted move over the highway.

Movement Restrictions

* Heavy traffic conditions. TxXDOT may limit the hours
for travel on certain routes because of heavy traffic
conditions.

* Holidays. Manufactured housing may not be moved on:

New Year’s Day

Memorial Day

Independence Day

Labor Day

Thanksgiving Day

Christmas Day.

* Visibility, weather and construction. TxDOT also
prohibits movement when:
o Visibility is reduced to less than 2/10 of a mile
o The road surface is hazardous due to weather such

as wind, rain, ice, Snow

o Highway maintenance or construction work.

©c © 0 © © O
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Laws of the Texas Department of Housing
and Community Affairs, Manufactured

Housing
(10 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §80, Texas
Occupation Code §1201-1202)

The Manufactured Housing Division, an independent
entity of Texas Department of Housing and Community
Affairs (TDHCA), with its own board and executive
director, regulates manufactured housing in Texas,
licensing those who manufacture, sell and install the
homes. Additionally, they maintain a database of all home
owners, provides consumer protection, installation and
habitability inspections and administers the Homeowners’
Recovery Trust Fund, providing consumer remedy. This
regulatory authority is pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code
and Title 10, Section 80 of the Texas Administrative Code.

It is unlawful to:

* Sell two or more manufactured homes within a 12-
month period without a Texas Retailer's license.

» Construct, assemble, or ship into Texas, a new HUD
Code manufactured home without a Texas
Manufacturer's license.

» Install, re-level, block, anchor, or install components of
a foundation, without a Texas Installer's license.

All licensed installers must report every installation which
may be inspected by TDHCA.

Any home that has been salvaged can only be sold to or
rebuilt by a licensed retailer or rebuilder, in accordance
with extensive rebuilding and inspection requirements.

If the owner of a manufactured home relocates the home,
the owner shall apply for the issuance of a new statement
of ownership and location (formerly known as a title),
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within 60 days from the date of relocation and include a
copy of the moving permit.

To contact the Texas Department of Housing and
Community Affairs, Manufactured Housing Division, call
direct at 512/475-2200 or toll-free at 1-800/500-7074, or
access their Web site at www.tdhca.state.tx.us/mh/.

Implements of Husbandry (Agriculture)
(TRC §§623.071 — 623.082)

Definition. Implements of husbandry are:

* Farm implements

* Machinery and tools (does not include passenger car or
truck) used in tilling the soil and harvesting the
resulting crop, including self-propelled machinery:

o Specifically designed or especially adapted for
applying plant food materials or agricultural
chemicals

o Not designed or adapted for the sole purpose of
transporting the materials or chemicals.

Examples of items considered implements of
husbandry. Cultivators, farm tractors, reapers, binders,
combines, cotton module builders, planters, disc
subsoilers, tractors, dozers (when used to till the soil in a
farming operation), sprayers, bailers, fertilizer spreaders,
etc.

Examples of items not considered implements of
husbandry. Automobiles, trucks, or items used on farms
but that do not till the soil such as irrigation systems, silo
barns, storage bins, cattle feeders, water tanks, etc.

The following table lists various scenarios and whether they
require a permit, a Superheavy or Oversize Permit Bond, Texas
Motor Carrier Registration or Unified Carrier Registration.
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Fees. Implements of husbandry are eligible for single-trip

and annual permits.

« Single-trip permit: $60 + highway maintenance fees
for 80,001 pounds or more.

« Annual implements of husbandry permit: $270 +
highway maintenance fee for 80,001 pounds or more.

Implements of husbandry requirements. The following
table lists various scenarios and whether they require a
permit, a Superheavy or Oversize Permit Bond, Motor
Carrier Registration (MCR), or Unified Carrier
Registration (UCR).

Requirement
*
Loz}d . Specifications
Description Permit Bond
IMCR/UCR**
A vehicle or combination of
vehicles used to transport a combine
that is used in farm custom
Over-length, [harvesting operations on a farm if
hauled or moved |the overall length of the vehicle or
by owner, agent Jcombination is not longer than 75 No No*
or owner’s feet if traveling on the Interstate
employee highway system, or not longer than

81 feet 6 inches if the vehicle is not
traveling on the Interstate highway
system

* Overwidth only and being

Overwidth, .
delivered to new owner
moved by: .
* To transport to/from mechanic
* Owner . .
for repair/maintenance No No
* Agent .
s * In the course of an agricultural
* Owner’s .
operation not to exceed 50
employee

miles on Interstate highways
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Requirement
Load* . c
. . Specifications
Description - Bond
ermit by CRuUCR*
* To deliver to new owner
* To transport to/from mechanic
Oversize/ for repair/ maintenance
overweight other | * In the course of an agricultural Yes No
than width operation regardless of miles
traveled on the Interstate
highways
* To deliver to farmer
. « To bring back to place of Yes No
Oversge/ business for repairs
overweight

moved by dealer

or manufacturer
To deliver to another dealer

Yes Yes
or manufacturer

* To deliver to farmer
* To bring back to place of Yes Yes
business for repairs

Oversize/
overweight
moved by a
transporter

(hauling for hire)

To deliver to another dealer

Yes Yes
or manufacturer

* When the implement is not self-propelled and has to be moved by
another vehicle, include the vehicle as part of the load.
** MCR is required for all loads that exceed 48,000 pounds.
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Portable Building Units

(TRC §§ 623.121 - 623.130)

Portable building carriers are not required to have a
moving authority or a Superheavy or Oversize Permit
Bond when the load dimensions do not exceed those
allowed for a portable building permit.

Definition. A portable building is a pre-fabricated structure
and other components that are delivered by the
manufacturer as a complete, inspected unit with a distinct
serial number, whether fully assembled, partially assembled,
or an unassembled kit, when loaded for transport.

Measurement requirements. A vehicle, or vehicle

combination, transporting one or more portable building

units that exceeds legal length or legal width limits are

eligible for a portable building permit provided the

combined measurements of the load and towing vehicle do

not exceed the:

* Legal height of 14 feet and

* Overall length of 80 feet with no more than a four foot
rear overhang.

Applicants exceeding these dimensions must apply for a
general oversize permit and must adhere to the rules for such.

If the vehicle is transporting more than one portable
building and the rear overhang exceeds four feet, a
building must be removed.

Loading requirements. Portable buildings may be loaded
end-to-end provided the overall length does not exceed 80
feet and/or four feet of rear overhang. Portable buildings
may not be loaded side-by-side nor stacked if this causes
the load to exceed legal width and or height.

Fee. Portable Building Permit: $15.
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QOil Well Servicing and Drilling Machinery
(TRC §§ 623.141 - 623.150)

Definition. Oil well servicing and drilling machinery are
defined as those vehicles constructed as a machine used
solely for servicing, cleaning out and/or drilling oil wells,
and consisting in general of a mast, an engine for power, a
draw works and chassis permanently constructed or
assembled for such purpose(s).

Permits eligibility. Single-trip, single-trip (mileage),
quarterly and annual oversize and overweight permits may
be issued for the movement of oil well servicing and
drilling machinery. The permits allow vehicle loads to
exceed the legal width, height, length and weight
limitations.

Limitations. The maximum weight for any single axle is
not to exceed 30,000 pounds. Such weight shall not
exceed 950 pounds per square inch of tire width for
steerable axles.

Fees. Permit fees are as follows:
» Annual Oil Well Servicing Unit Permit: $52 per axle
+ Single-Trip, Single-Trip Mileage Permit and Quarterly
Hubometer* Permit:
o $31 minimum fee
o Mileage traveled multiplied by the fee determined
by the width and the height measurements, in
addition to the weight in excess of legal on the
axle/s group/s.
* A hubometer is required on all vehicles issued a
quarterly permit under this section.
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Unladen Lift Equipment Motor Vehicles

(Motor Cranes)
(TRC §§ 623.191 - 623.199)

Definition. An unladen lift equipment motor vehicle is a
self-propelled unladen mobile crane constructed as a machine
used solely for lifting purposes and consisting in general of a
boom, an engine for power and a chassis permanently
constructed or assembled for the purpose of lifting.

Registration. An unladen lift equipment motor vehicle
can be registered with a regular commercial truck
registration for the gross weight of the vehicle, or with
permit or machinery plates.

Permits eligibility. Single-trip, single-trip mileage,
quarterly and annual permits may be issued for the
movement of unladen lift equipment (mobile cranes).

These permits allow the vehicle to exceed the legal width,
height, length, and weight limitations.

Limitations. The maximum weight for a single axle or any
axle in an axle group may not exceed 30,000 pounds and the
weight must not exceed 850 pounds per inch of tire width.

Fees. Permit fees are as follows:
* Annual Mobile Crane (Unladen Lift Equipment)
Permit: $100
» Single-Trip, Single-trip Mileage Permit and Quarterly
Hubometer* Permit:
o $31 minimum fee
o Mileage traveled multiplied by the fee determined by the
width and the height measurements, in addition to the
weight in excess of legal on the axle/s groupys.
* A hubometer is required on all vehicles issued a
quarterly permit under this section.
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Permits for Over Axle and Over Gross

Weight Tolerances
(TRC §623.011)

The Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance permit
allows commercial motor vehicles (truck or truck tractor
in combination with a trailer or semi-trailer) to haul a
divisible commodity and exceed allowable axle, axle
group or gross weight for those vehicles.

This permit is issued to the power unit.

Route restrictions. A permit issued under this section

does not authorize the operation of a vehicle on:

* The national system of interstate and defense highways
in the state (main lanes or frontage roads)

* A bridge for which a maximum weight and load limit
has been established and posted if the gross weight of
the vehicle and load or axles and wheel loads are
greater than the limits established and posted.

Load-posted bridges. A vehicle moving with a weight
tolerance permit may not travel over a load-posted bridge
when exceeding the posted weight limits, unless the bridge
provides the only public vehicular access to or from the
permitted vehicle’s origin or destination.

Vehicle transporting non-agricultural products. This

permit authorizes the operation of a vehicle transporting non-

agricultural products to travel on state maintained and county

roads or counties selected on the permit with a tolerance of:

» Up to 10 percent above legal axle weight

» Up to, but not more than, five percent above gross
vehicular weight.

Vehicle transporting agricultural products. Agricultural
products include timber, pulp wood, wood chips, cotton,
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livestock, or agricultural products in their natural state that
are being transported from the place of production to the
place of first marketing or processing (TRC §621.508).

This permit authorizes the operation of a vehicle
transporting agricultural products to travel on state
maintained and county roads or counties selected on the
permit with a tolerance of:

* Up to 12 percent above legal axle weight on one
tandem, 10 percent on the rest not to exceed 84,000
pounds

* Up to, but not more than five percent above gross
vehicular weight

Bond or irrevocable letter of credit. An Over Axle and
Over Gross Weight Tolerance Bond or an irrevocable letter
of credit for $15,000 is required for vehicles hauling non-
agricultural products. An applicant must file the bond
payable to TxDOT. The Federal Deposit Insurance
Corporation must guarantee deposits of financial
institutions that issue letters of credit.

The Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance Bond is
effective until the insurance or bonding company notifies
TxDOT that the bond is no longer valid. For vehicles
hauling agricultural products, a bond or letter of credit is
not required.

Fees. A permit is valid for one year from the permit start
date. The fee includes:

« $75 base fee

* $5 administrative fee

» fee, based on the following sliding fee scale
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Fees Based on Number of Counties Traveled

Number of Counties on

Permit Application Fee
1-5 $175

6-20 $250

21-40 $450

41-60 $625

61-80 $800

81-100 $900
101-254 $1,000

Motor carrier registration requirements. A commercial
motor vehicle, or combination of vehicles, with a gross
weight, registered weight, or gross weight rating
exceeding 26,000 pounds must be registered with TxDMV
as a motor carrier. For information and forms call
1-800/368-4689.

Vehicle registration. Registration must be for the
maximum permissible weight for a particular vehicle, not
to exceed 80,000 pounds. The permit does not increase the
registered weight limit, but only allows a tolerance above
the maximum registered weight.

When a semitrailer registered with a token plate or an
apportioned trailer plate operates in combination with a
Texas-registered truck-tractor operating with a permit, the
semitrailer must increase the token fee from $15 to $30.

A vehicle registered in another state qualifies for a permit
if it has apportioned registration and Texas is listed on its
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cab card. If a vehicle does not have apportioned
registration, full Texas registration is required. TxXDOT
does not issue temporary vehicle registration to this
type of vehicle.

For more information on weight tolerance permits, see 43
Texas Administrative Code, Part 1, Chapter 28,
Subchapter C.

Port of Brownsville Port Authority Permits
The Brownsville Navigation District of Cameron County
(Port of Brownsville), Texas, has special authority from
the Department to issue permits for the movement of
oversize or overweight vehicles carrying cargo on a

designated corridor as set out in 7exas Transportation
Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter K.

The permit fee is $30 per trip.

The Port of Brownsville specialized oversize/overweight
permit allows for the movement of oversize or overweight
vehicles carrying cargo on the following roads:

+ State Highway 48/State Highway 4 between the
Gateway International Bridge and the entrance to the
Port of Brownsville, or

+ U.S. Highway 77/U.S. Highway 83 and State Highway
48/State Highway 4 between the Veterans International
Bridge at Los Tomates and the entrance to the Port of
Brownsville

The gross weight of cargo and equipment shall not exceed
the allowable permittable axle load, the Mexican Legal
Weight Limit, or 125,000 pounds, whichever is less, and
the dimensions of the load and vehicle shall not exceed 12
feet wide, 15 feet 6 inches high, or 110 feet long.
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Movement of a permitted vehicle is prohibited when
visibility is reduced to less than 2/10 of one mile or the
road surface is hazardous due to weather conditions such
as rain, ice, sleet, or snow, or highway maintenance or
construction work.

An oversize permitted vehicle may be moved only during
daylight hours; however, an overweight only permitted
vehicle may be moved at any time.

The Port of Brownsville has an online self-permitting
system that allows for online payments, virtual cash
receipts and permit-tracking. The system was designed to
ensure permits are issued according to statute and existing
administrative rules. The permit system is located at:
https://texas.promiles.com/Brownsville.

Chambers County Permits

Chambers County, Texas, has special authority from the
department to issue permits for the movement of oversize
or overweight vehicles and loads on Farm-to-Market Road
1405 and the frontage road of State Highway 99 located in
the Cedar Crossing Business Park as set out in Texas
Transportation Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter M.

The gross weight of cargo and equipment shall not exceed
the allowable permittable axle load, or 100,000 pounds,
whichever is less and the dimensions of the load and
vehicle shall not exceed 12 feet wide, 16 feet high, or 110
feet long.

Movement of a permitted vehicle is prohibited when
visibility is reduced to less than 2/10 of one mile or the
road surface is hazardous due to weather conditions such
as rain, ice, sleet, or snow, or highway maintenance or
construction work.
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An oversize permitted vehicle may be moved only during
daylight hours; however, an overweight only permitted
vehicle may be moved at any time.

Chambers County has an online self-permitting system
that allows for online payments, virtual cash receipts and
permit-tracking. The system was designed to ensure
permits are issued according to statute and existing
administrative rules. The permit system is located at:
http://texas.promiles.com/chambers.

Compliance
A person operating a vehicle for which a permit is
required shall comply with all applicable terms, conditions

and requirements of the permit and applicable rules and
TRC Chapters 621, 622 or 623.

A person operating on a public road or highway a vehicle for
which a permit is not required shall comply with the weight
and size provisions of TRC Chapters 621, 622 or 623.

A person may not operate on a highway or public road a
vehicle that exceeds its gross weight registration.

False information on the permit is considered a violation
and subjects the permit to revocation and enforcement
provisions set out in 43 TAC Chapter 28.

Shipper’s certificate of weight. When a shipper’s
certificate of weight is used, the shipper must certify that
the information on the form is accurate and must deliver
the form to the motor carrier or person before an over-
weight permit is applied for or before transportation of the
shipment begins.

A motor carrier who holds an annual envelope permit may
rely on the shipper’s certificate of weight to determine
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whether the shipment requires an additional overweight
permit.

A person may use the certificate of weight as a defense for
not obtaining the required overweight permit.

Permit compliance. A permit issued under this chapter
becomes invalid immediately on the violation of a rule or
a condition or requirement placed on the permit. Any
movement thereafter is a violation and subject to
enforcement action under 43 TAC Chapter 28 and TRC
Chapters 621, 622 and 623.

Records and Inspections

Persons and motor carriers subject to Transportation
Code, Chapters 621, 622 or 623, are required to maintain
certain information and records and provide access to any
such records to department investigators for examining
and inspecting these records.

All records and information required by the department
shall maintain at the principal place of business for not
less than two years. These records shall include:

» operational logs, insurance certificates and documents
to verify the person's operations;

» complete and accurate records of services performed;

+ all certificate of title documents, shipper's certificate of
weight, including information used to support the
shipper’s certificate of weight, weight tickets, permits
for oversize or overweight vehicles and loads, dispatch
records, load tickets, waybill or any other document
that verify the operations of the vehicle to determine
the actual weight, insurance coverage, size or capacity
of the vehicle, and the size or weight of the commodity
being transported.
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Copies of the oversize or overweight permit shall be
maintained in the vehicle for which the permit was issued
during the period that the permit is required. The permit
shall be presented to a department inspector or any other
authorized government personnel upon demand.

Inspections.

* A person shall give an inspector access to the person’s
premises to conduct inspections or investigations of an
alleged violation of 43 TAC Chapter 28, or
Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622 or 623. The
person shall provide adequate workspace with
reasonable working conditions and shall allow the
inspector to copy and verify records and documents.

» Inspections and investigations will be conducted
during normal business hours unless mutual
arrangements have been made otherwise.

* The inspector will present to the person the inspector’s
credentials and a written statement from the
department indicating the inspector's authority to
conduct the investigation.

Regional office or driver work-reporting location. All
records and documents required by this subchapter which
are maintained at the regional office or driver work-
reporting location shall be made available for inspection
upon request at the motor carrier’s principal place of
business or other location specified by the department
within 48 hours after a request is made.

Enforcement

Administrative penalties. The department may impose an

administrative penalty against a person who:

» Provides false information on a permit application

* Violates Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622 or
623 or any adopted orders of these chapters

 Fails to obtain an oversize overweight permit
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* Violates an order adopted under 43 TAC Chapter 28 or
Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622 or 628.

The amount of the penalty may not exceed $5,000 per
violation, unless it is found the person knowingly
committed the violation at which time the penalty may not
exceed $15,000. If it is found that a person knowingly
committed multiple violations, the penalty may be in an
amount not to exceed $30,000, based on the following
factors:

+ Seriousness of the violation

* Economic harm to property or the environment

* History of previous violations

* Amount necessary to deter future violations

+ Efforts made to correct the violation and

»  Other matters that justice may require.

Administrative sanctions. The department may revoke,

suspend, or deny an oversize or overweight permit if the

person

» Provides false information on a permit application

* Violates Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622 or
623 or any adopted orders of these chapters

 Fails to obtain an oversize overweight permit

* Violates an order adopted under 43 TAC Chapter 28 or
Transportation Code 621, 622, 623.

The department may probate a suspension upon review of

» Seriousness of the violation

* Prior violations

* Prior probated suspensions for the person

» Cooperation by the person in the investigation and
enforcement proceeding; and

* Ability of the person to correct the violation.

The length of the probation will be based on the
seriousness of the violation. During the probation, the
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person will be required to report to the department on a
monthly basis. The department may revoke the probation
and impose a deferred administrative penalty if the person
fails to abide by the terms of the probation.

Nonpayment of penalties. The department may not issue
an oversize or overweight permit to the person who has
not paid an administrative penalty that is due or for the
vehicle that is the subject of the enforcement order until
the amount of the delinquent administrative penalty has
been paid to the department.

Proceedings. If the department decides to take an

enforcement action under this subchapter, the department

shall, in writing give notice to the person whom the action

is being taken. That notice must include:

* Summary of alleged violation;

+ Statement of each enforcement action being taken;

» Effective date of each enforcement action;

* A statement informing a person of their rights to
request a hearing;

+  Astatement describing the procedure for requesting a hearing;

+ A statement that the proposed penalties and sanctions
will take effect on the date specified in the letter if the
person fails to request a hearing.

The person must submit a written request for a hearing not
later than the 26th day after the date the notice is mailed.
On receipt of the written request, the department will refer
to the State Office of Administrative Hearings. When the
hearing is set, the department will notify the person of time
and place of hearing. If the person does not make a written
request for a hearing, or enter into a settlement agreement
before the 27th day after the date that the notice is mailed,
the department’s decision becomes final and unappealable.
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False information on certificate by shipper. The
department may investigate and impose an administrative
penalty on a shipper who provides false information on a
shipper’s certificate of weight. The amount of such

penalty is calculated in the same manner as other
administrative penalties.
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Temporary Vehicle Registration

Temporary vehicle registration may be issued to allow
temporary movement of unregistered vehicles in Texas.

72-Hour and 144-Hour Temporary Vehicle

Registration
(TRC §502.352)

A temporary 72-hour or 144-hour registration (permit) can
be issued for the movement of a laden truck, truck-tractor,
trailer, semitrailer, or a motor bus upon the highways of
Texas in either interstate or intrastate operation.

Temporary 72-hour or 144-hour permits may only be
issued to commercial vehicles and buses owned by
residents of the United States, Mexico, or Canada.
Residents of any other foreign country are not eligible to
obtain this type of temporary registration.

Nonresidents of Texas may use these permits to:
* Operate an unregistered commercial vehicle or bus
in Texas.
* Engage in intrastate operations in Texas with out-
of-state licensed commercial vehicles.

Texas residents may use these permits to operate:

* An unregistered commercial vehicle or bus in
Texas.

» A Texas registered commercial vehicle with a
heavier gross weight than registered. The heavier
load may operate for only the period that the
permit is valid unless the owner purchases
additional permits.

* A farm registered or soil conservation registered
vehicle with its maximum legal gross weight in a
manner other than normally intended.
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Note: When a pulling unit (Texas or out-of-state) displays
a 72-hour or 144-hour permit, then each semitrailer
operated in combination must also display a 72-hour or
144-hour permit or regular Texas Trailer license plates (not
Token Trailer license plates).

Weights. Vehicles operating with 72-hour or 144-hour
permits may operate at the maximum weight allowed
under the Texas registration laws.

Requirements. The applicant must present evidence of
insurance in the minimum amounts prescribed by the
Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act.

Note: Temporary 72-hour or 144-hour permits issued by
Texas are not honored by all states. To operate outside of
Texas with one of these permits, the vehicle operator
should contact the motor vehicle jurisdiction(s) in the
appropriate state(s) in which travel is planned.

Fees
e 72-Hour Permit: $25
e 144-Hour Permit: $50

One-Trip Temporary Vehicle Registration

A one-trip permit temporary registration (permit) is issued
for the temporary movement of an unladen vehicle subject
to the registration laws of this State. The permit is valid
for a period of 15 days.

Eligibility for one-trip temporary vehicle registration. The
following vehicles are eligible for one-trip temporary
vehicle registration:

* Truck or truck-tractor operating in combination
with an unladen trailer or semitrailer. (If both
vehicles are unregistered, two permits must be
issued, one for each unit.)
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» Charter bus. (Only those from another state or
country may carry property and passengers.)

* A private bus carrying property and passengers.

* Commercial vehicle with a camper unit mounted
on it.

* A commercial vehicle which is not transporting
any passengers or property.
(Vehicle must be empty)

» Passenger car. (The carrying of passengers and
property is permitted.)

» Park Model trailers

*  Motorcycle.

One-trip permits may not be issued for:

* Manufactured housing

* Charter bus based in Texas which is transporting
passengers.

+ Commercial vehicle which is transporting the
owner's household goods.

* Boat trailer which is carrying a boat.

* Laden luggage trailer or laden utility trailer.

* Vehicle carrying a fixed load regardless of whether
the vehicle is conventional or unconventional.

* Vehicle which has been apprehended for operating
unregistered.

» Junked, salvage, or non-repairable vehicle.

» A trip that originates and terminates outside Texas.

Requirements. The applicant must present evidence of
insurance in the minimum amounts prescribed by the
Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act.

Route. A one-trip registration permit is valid for one trip
only between the point of origin and the point of
destination and the intermediate point as shown on the
permit or license receipt. The operator must show an
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intermediate point for the purpose of establishing a
definite route.

A one-trip temporary vehicle registration may not be
issued for a trip that originates and terminates outside of
Texas. Either the trip point of origin or the point of
destination must be within the State of Texas.

Note: One-trip permits issued by Texas are not honored by
all states. To operate outside of Texas with one of these
permits, the vehicle operator should contact the motor
vehicle jurisdiction(s) in the appropriate state(s) in which
travel is planned.

Fee. One-Trip Temporary Vehicle Registration: $5.

63



Temporary Vehicle Registration

This page is intentionally blank.

64



Other Helpful Information

Other Helpful Information

Motor Carrier Forms and Publications
Motor carrier forms and publications are located on the
TxDMV Web site at www.txdmv.gov, select “FindForms”
under the “How do I...” section.

Motor Carrier Important Notices

and Rules/Regulations

Motor carrier important notices and rules and regulations are
located on the TXDMV Web site at www.dmv.gov, select
“Notices and Rules” under the “Motor Carriers” section.

Motor Carrier Safety

Motor carriers are required to follow specific safety
regulations. A Texas Motor Carrier’s Guide to Highway
Safety is available on the Texas Department of Public
Safety (DPS) Web site: www.txdps.state.tx.us, then search
keyword CVE for a listing of all DPS Commercial Vehicle
Enforcement information and publications. DPS is
responsible for safety enforcement in Texas. For federal
safety information and enforcement, visit the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration Web site at
www.fimcsa.dot.gov/safety-security/sites/company-safety.htm.

Commercial Driver License

Most motor carrier drivers are required to have a
Commercial Driver License (CDL). To determine if a
driver is required to have a CDL, visit the DPS Web site at
www.txdps.state.tx.us/cve/texaslaws.htm, then select, “Do
I need a commercial driver license (CDL)?”

The Texas Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver's Handbook
can also be found on the DPS Web site. At the DPS home
page, select “TX Driver License” then “Driver License
Forms.”
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DPS, Motor Carrier Bureau Headquarters in Austin, can be
contacted by calling 1-800/299-1700, options 6 or 7 or by
visiting www.txdps.state.tx.us.

TxDOT Toll-Free Number

TxDOT offers a toll-free number for contacting state and

federal agencies regarding motor carrier compliance.

* Dial toll-free 1-800/299-1700 and press a menu option
for a desired topic.

If you do not have a touch-tone phone or would like to

speak to an operator, hold for assistance. Menu options
may change without notice.

TxDOT Automated Telephone Menu

Topic Options
Oversize/overweight (single-trip) permits | 7 |
or temporary tags
Weight Tolerance Permits 1 1 1
30/60/90 day overwidth or overlength permits, annual | | )

hay, vehicle specific envelope or utility pole permits

Annual company specific envelope, annual
manufactured housing, annual well servicing, mobile 1 1 4
crane & annual implement of husbandry permits

Quarterly self-propelled cranes and
well servicing unit permits

Super heavy loads exceeding 254,300 pounds 1 2

Route Inspections, loads exceeding 20 feet wide, or
18 feet 11 inches high, or 125 feet long or 1 3
for house moves

Remote Permit System questions or information 1 4
Permit Amendments 1 5 1
Questions concerning inter.ne‘t permit Aapplications and | 5 )
general permit information
Questions concerning fax permit applications 1 5 3
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TxDOT Automated Telephone Menu (cont.)

Topic Options
PAC, FirstPay, and Credit Card | 6 |
transaction information
Escrow Account Information 1 6 2
Cash, Check, or Money Order Transactions 1 6 3
Western Regional multi-state permits 1 7 2

Size/weight Compliance and Enforcement Inquiries
and Complaint Management System 3
(CMS) Information

International Fuel Tax Agreement and Other Motor

Fuel Tax Information >
Drivers License Information 6
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
Make your selection based on the geographic area
nearest to your location.
Region 1 — Dallas, Tyler, Texarkana 7 1
Region 2 — Houston, Beaumont, Lufkin 7 2
Region 3 - Corpus Christi, Brownsville, Laredo, San 7 3
Antonio
Region 4 — Midland, Abilene, El Paso 7 4
Region 5 — Lubbock, Amarillo, Wichita Falls 7 5
Region 6 — Waco, Austin, Temple 7 6

Updated 5/2011
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TxDOT District Offices

District

Location

Number

Abilene

4250 North Clack
Abilene 79601

325/676-6801

Amarillo

5715 Canyon Drive
Amarillo 79114

806/356-3201

Atlanta

701 East Main St.
Atlanta 75551-2418

903/799-1220

Austin

7901 North I-35
Austin 78753

512/832-7022

Beaumont

8350 Eastex Freeway
Beaumont 77708-1701

409/898-5731

Brownwood

2495 Highway 183 N.
Brownwood
76802-3227

325/643-0411

Bryan

1300 N. Texas Ave.
Bryan 77803-2760

979/778-9611

Childress

7599 U.S. 287
Childress 79201-9705

940/937-7145

Corpus Christi

1701 S. Padre
Island Dr.
Corpus Christi 78416

361/808-2220

Dallas

4777 East Hwy. 80
Mesquite 75150-6642

214/320-6110

El Paso

13301 Gateway
Boulevard West
El Paso 79928-5410

915/790-4203

Ft. Worth

2501 SW Loop 820
Ft. Worth 76133

817/370-6512

Houston

7600 Washington Ave.
Houston 77007

713/802-5001

Laredo

1817 Bob Bullock Lp.
Laredo 78043

956/712-7400

Lubbock

135 Slaton Road
Lubbock 79404-5201

806/748-4420

Lufkin

1805 N. Timberland Dr.
Lufkin 75901

936/633-4322
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TxDOT District Offices (cont.)

District Location Number

3901 E. U.S. Hwy. 80

Odessa Odessa 79761

432/498-4711

. 1365 N. Main St.
Paris Paris 75460-2697 903/737-9206

600 W. U.S. Exp. 83

Pharr Pharr 78577-1231

956/702-6101

4502 Knickerbocker Rd.
San Angelo San Angelo 76904 325/944-1501

4615 NW Loop 410

San Antonio 78229-0928 210/615-5801

San Antonio

2709 West Front Street
Tyler Tyler 75702-7712 903/510-9220

100 South Loop Drive

Waco Waco 76704-2858 254/867-2701
1601 Southwest Pkwy.
Wichita Falls Wichita Falls 940/720-7790

76302-4906

403 Huck Street
Yoakum Yoakum 77995-2973 361/293-4332

Definitions

144-hour temporary vehicle registration. Temporary
vehicle registration authorizes a vehicle to operate at
maximum legal weight on a state highway for a period not

longer than 144 consecutive hours, as prescribed by TRC
§502.352.

72-hour temporary vehicle registration. Temporary
vehicle registration authorizes a vehicle to operate at
maximum legal weight on a state highway for a period not
longer than 72 consecutive hours, as prescribed by TRC
§502.352.
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Applicant. Any person, firm, or corporation requesting a
permit.

Bill of lading. A document issued describing the kind and
quantity of goods being shipped, the shipper, the
consignee, the port of loading and discharge and the
carrying vessel. In the case of household goods, this would
be the moving services contract.

Cab card. General term with multiple meanings — In this
handbook, cab card refers to the ‘insurance cab card'
which lists vehicles registered as commercial motor
vehicles under a Certificate of Registration number issued
by TxDMYV, Motor Carrier Division for intrastate
operations.

DOT. This term has multiple meanings because it is not
specific — When used, it most commonly is pertaining to the
United States Department of Transportation (USDOT),
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
regulations regarding safety requirements of drivers and/or
commercial motor vehicles. It could also refer to
commercial motor carrier licensing agencies, such as
USDOT, FMCSA, for interstate operations (shipment
crossing state line), or Texas Department of Transportation
(TxDOT) for intrastate operations (shipments with origin
and destination within the borders of Texas).

Gross weight. The unladen weight of a vehicle or
combination of vehicles plus the weight of the load being

transported.

Interstate. Movement from state to state across state lines,
including from a port or railway.

Intrastate. Movement within the State of Texas borders.
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Lading. Cargo; freight being transported.

Net weight. Weight of cargo or freight (gross weight less
tare weight = net weight)

Nondivisible load. A load that cannot be reduced to a
smaller dimension without compromising the integrity of
the load or requiring more than eight hours of work using
appropriate equipment to dismantle.

Permit account card (PAC). A debit card that can only be
used to purchase a permit or temporary vehicle registration
and which is issued by a financial institution that is under
contract with TxDOT and the Comptroller of Public
Accounts.

Permit specialist. An employee of TxDOT who is
authorized to issue an oversize/overweight permit and
temporary vehicle registration.

Permitted vehicle. A vehicle, combination of vehicles, or
vehicle and its load operating under the provisions of a
permit.

Shipper’s certificate of weight. Form 2280 in which the
shipper certifies to the maximum weight of the shipment
being transported. Form is available at www.txdot.gov,
search “Motor Carrier Forms,” select
“Oversize/Overweight Load Permits,” and then “Shipper
Certificate of Weight.”

Shipper. Person who consigns the movement of a shipment.

Tare weight. Weight of a vehicle when it is empty of a
load and occupants.
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Temporary vehicle registration. A 72-hour temporary
vehicle registration, 144-hour temporary vehicle registration,
or one-trip registration, as defined by TRC §502.352 and
$§502.354.

Truck. A motor vehicle designed, used, or maintained
primarily for the transportation of property.

Truck-tractor. A motor vehicle designed or used
primarily for drawing another vehicle: (A) that is not
constructed to carry a load other than a part of the weight
of the vehicle and load being drawn, or (B) that is engaged
with a semitrailer in the transportation of automobiles or
boats and that transports the automobiles or boats on part
of the truck-tractor.

Waybill. A document giving details and instructions
relating to the shipment of goods. Unlike a bill of lading,
which includes much of the same information, a waybill is not a
document of title.

Railroad Crossings Emergency Hotline

To report malfunctions of mechanical devices at railroad
crossings or other types of situations that may require
immediate attention including a vehicle that may be hung-
up on the tracks call 800/772-7677. This hotline is manned
24 hours a day by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Be prepared to provide operator with the location site
number (all railroad crossing locations equipped with
mechanical devices have a sign attached identifying the
location site) and the exact location in relation to the state
highway system. Report the highway number and mileage
from a town. If possible give the name of the railroad
company that is listed at the site, as this will give the
operator the information needed to be able to contact the
company that owns the rail line.
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Texas State Contacts

Agencies

Topics

Contact

Texas Online
A one-stop-shop for government
interactions, saving time and
effort by directing you in the right
direction. Texas Online makes
government accessible 24 hours a
day, seven days a week.”

WWWw.texas.gov

Driver’s License
Vehicle Registration
Taxes
and more...

877/452-9060

Texas Comptroller of
Public Accounts
Window on State Government

www.window.state.tx.us

Any Texas-based entity
operating qualified motor
vehicle(s) in two or more

IFTA (International Fuel Tax
Agreement) jurisdictions may
obtain a Texas IFTA license in
lieu of obtaining trip permits
to satisfy their motor fuels tax
obligations to other states.
Texas must be your based
jurisdiction.

Motor fuels tax

(TX) 800/
252-1383

Fuel permits IFTA

800/252-1383

Texas Department of Housing
and Community Affairs

www.tdhca.state.tx.us/mh.htm

Manufactured housing
regulation

800/500-7074
512/475-2200

Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality
(TCEQ)

www.tceq.state.tx.us

Hazardous materials
transport registration and
reporting

512/239-6833

Air Check Texas Repair and
Replacement Assistance
Program
(financial assistance for
qualified owners of vehicles
that failed emissions test)

800/913-3321
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Texas State Contacts (cont.)

Agencies

Topics

Contact

Texas Department of
Public Safety (DPS)

www.txdps.state.tx.us

Headquarters

512/424-2000

Driver records

512/424-2600

Commercial
Vehicle
Enforcement

To locate a CVE
office
www.txdps.state.
tx.us/cve/

License & weight
service

512/424-2116

Traffic law enforcement

512/424-2110

Hazardous materials

512/424-2010

Motor Carrier Bureau

512/424-2051

Emergency roadside
assistance

800/525-5555

Complaints

http://www.txdps.
state.tx.us/OIG/
complaint.htm

Open records

Fax: 512/424-
2649 or e-mail:
pio@txdps.state.
tx.us

Vehicle inspection &
emission

512/424-2770

Commercial driver license

512/424-2600

Safety
hazardous materials

512/424-2051
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Other Helpful Information

Texas State Contacts (cont.)

Agencies

Topics

Contact

Texas Department of
Transportation (TxDOT)

www.txdot.gov

OS/OW load permits

800/299-1700

Texas Highways Magazine

800/839-4997

Traffic operations/
crash records

512/486-5780

Tourism

800/452-9292

TTY
(phone device for the deaf)

800/687-5288

Texas Department of Motor
Vehicles (TxDMV)

www.txdmv.gov

International Registration
Plan (IRP)

888/368-4689,
opt. 4,3,1

Motor carriers & Vehicle
Titles and Registration
(license plates, liens, titles)

888/368-4689,
opt. 4,3,2

Special plates

512/374-5010

Certificates of title

512/465-7611

Texas Department of
Licensing and Regulation
www.license.state.tx.us/towin
g/towing.htm

Vehicle storage facilities
(VSF) and tow trucks

800/803-9202

512/463-6599

512/475-2871
(fax)

Texas Secretary of State
WWW.sos.state.tx.us

Selecting a business
structure

512/463-5555

Texas Department of
Insurance
www.tdi.state.tx.us

Consumer Helpline

800/252-3439

Railroad Commission
of Texas
www.rrc.state.tx.us

Liquid Petroleum Gas
(LPG or LP-Gas)
Propane, Propylene
Normal Butane
Isobutane Butylenes

Main
877/228-5740

Austin
512/463-7288

Updated 5/2011
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Other Helpful Information

Federal Contacts

Agencies Topics Contact
U.S. Department of
Transportation 202/366-4000
www.dot.gov
USDOT Numbers
Operating Authority 800/832-5660
Safety Ratings

Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Administration

www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Insurance filings

Household Movers
(interstate moves only)

888/DOT-SAFT
888/368-7238

Licensing 866/637-0635
Insurance 202/385-2423
Hazardous Materials Pipeline

Information Center
(HMIC)

www.phmsa.dot.gov/
hazmat

Hazardous materials
Hazardous cargo
routing
Rules
Registration

800/467-4922
202/366-4488

Federal Highway
Administration

www.thwa.dot.gov

Austin
512/536-5952

Internal Revenue Service
(IRS)

WWW.IIs.g0V

Heavy Vehicle Use Tax
(HVUT)
Form 2290

800/829-1040

Updated 5/2011
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