
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) can  
administratively approve new license plate designs that benefit 
state agencies or charities.  Your qualifying non-profit organization 
must complete the department’s application and submit an $8,000  
deposit, which will be refunded once 1,900 sets of your organization’s 
license plates are sold or renewed.  A representative from your  
organization must complete TxDMV’s license plate sponsorship  
application, which includes information about your organization 
and proof that your organization qualifies as a non-profit  
organization with the Internal Revenue Service.

Ask Your
State Legislator

The Texas Legislature also has the ability to create new license 
plates and is the sole option for some plates (e.g. military  plates). 
Any bill proposing a new license plate must pass both the Texas 
House and Texas Senate, and must have the Governor’s approval.  
Because of the volume of legislative requests for new specialty 
license plates previously filed during each legislative session, the 
legislature specifically granted TxDMV and My Plates the ability to 
create new plates without legislative intervention.  Also, except for 
plates honoring our military, a legislatively created license plate 
still requires the sponsor to submit an $8,000 deposit refundable 
after the sale or renewal of 1,900 plates.

Submit your proposal to the  
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Proposing a design to My Plates, the department’s  
official vendor for new specialty license plates, is an easy 
way for anyone to propose a new license plate.  My Plates 
is the vendor selected by the Texas Department of Motor  
Vehicles (TxDMV) to create, market, and sell new license 
plate designs, and is the first stop for any group, for- 
profit or non-profit, to request a plate.  License plates sold 
through My Plates can benefit your organization by sending it 
a portion of the plate’s proceeds.  This process requires the 
sponsor to submit a deposit of $4,615, which is refunded to 
non-profit organizations after 500 of your plates are sold or 
renewed.

Submit your proposal to  
myplates.com

Who’s eligible?

Who gets the revenue?

Do I need to find a state sponsor?

How long does the process take?

What are the plate design requirements?

Anyone can approach their legislator and ask for a new 
license plate design.  However, new license plates created 
through this process tend to be for the benefit of state 
agencies, or are in honor of members of the military. 

Typically, revenue generated from legislatively created  
license plates is minimal as these are low cost plates, and 
is sent to a state agency.  However, the fee amount and 
distribution are left to the will of the legislature.

Maybe. License plates created by the legislature typically  
benefit state agencies.

The time it takes to have a license plate legislatively  
approved varies, because the Texas Legislature meets for 
six months every two years.  It takes approximately four 
to six months after the Governor signs the bill before it is  
available to order.

License plates created by the Texas Legislature must meet  
legibility and reflectivity standards. These license plates are 
required to conform to the TxDMV design template. 

To contact your legislator, find out who 
represents you by visiting  
www.fyi.legis.state.tx.us.

Who’s eligible?

Who gets the revenue?

Do I need to find a state sponsor?

How long does the process take?

What are the plate design requirements?

Only non-profit organizations may apply to create a license 
plate through TxDMV.  Nominating organizations must  
reach an agreement with a qualifying state organization 
or TxDMV. 

If your license  plate is approved, your state agency sponsor  
will receive $22 of the $30 fee collected for every set of  
specialty plates sold.
Your organization can work with its state agency sponsor to  
determine where proceeds can be sent. 

Yes.  Your organization must find a state agency willing to 
sponsor your license plate and accept the proceeds from 
its sale.

From the time the proposal is made, the approval process 
typically takes about four to six months before the plate is 
available to order.

License plates proposed through TxDMV must not only 
meet legibility and reflectivity standards. These license 
plates must also conform to the TxDMV design template. 

For more information about TxDMV’s license 
plate approval process, visit 

 www.TxDMV.gov.

Who’s eligible?
Any individual, non-profit organization, or for-profit entity 
can propose a new specialty license plate to My Plates.   

Who gets the revenue?
Unlike having a plate approved through the TxDMV  
process, the proceeds from your plate’s sales can go virtually  
anywhere—even directly to your organization.

Do I need to find a state sponsor?

The proceeds your organization receives from sales of  
specialty plates submitted through My Plates are set by 
your contractual agreement with My Plates, not by law.

No.  With My Plates you do not have to find a sponsor. 

How long does the process take?
From the time the proposal is made, the approval process 
typically takes about four to six months before the plate is 
available to order.

What are the plate design requirements?
License plates proposed through My Plates must meet  
legibility and reflectivity standards.  However, license plates  
created using this method do not have to conform to a TxDMV  
design template, allowing you a larger variety of design  
options, like having your plate created in full color.

For more information about how to propose a 
license plate design to My Plates, visit  

www.myplates.com.
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There are now        ways to get your specialty license plate on the road.3

HELPING TEXANS GO.  HELPING TEXAS GROW.



Frequently Asked Questions
Q.  My organization isn’t a certifi ed non-profi t agency.  Are we 
still eligible to sponsor a license plate?
A. Yes. Anyone—including individuals, non-profi t organizations, and 
for-profi t entities—can propose a design to My Plates, the state’s offi cial 
vendor for specialty license plates.   

Q. Why do we have to submit a deposit?
A. The $8,000 deposit for plates created through the TxDMV process 
covers the state’s costs for programming, and producing your 
organization’s license plate.  When 1,900 sets of your organization’s 
specialty license plates are ordered, your deposit will be refunded.  
License plates created through My Plates require a deposit of $4,615, 

which is refunded to non-profi t organizations after 500 of your specialty 
license plates are sold or renewed.

Q. If my organization doesn’t sell 1,900 or more license plates after 
going through the TxDMV approval process, where does our 
deposit go?
A.  Your deposit remains in the State Highway Fund until sales of your 
license plate meet the statutory threshold of 1,900 renewals or new 
applications.

Q. Can my organization’s specialty plate be available only to 
individuals that meet certain criteria?
A. Yes.  For example, the department currently offers a license plate for 
which only licensed Realtors® are entitled.  However, remember that adding 
qualifi cations will restrict the number of potential purchasers, and could result 
in keeping your organization from meeting its order or refund threshold.

Q.  Does my organization have to reapply if our proposal is not 
approved, or will it be reconsidered?
A.  Your organization must reapply.

Q. Who provides the plate design?
A. You do, though your design is subject to standards on refl ectivity, 
legibility, and other factors.  Depending on which approval route you choose, 
My Plates or TxDMV will work with your organization to help you understand 
those standards.

Q.  How much money does a sponsoring state agency receive from 
the sale of a plate sold through TxDMV?
A. Of the $30 fee collected for each specialty plate approved through the 
TxDMV and sold in the state of Texas, $22 goes to the sponsoring state 
agency. 

Q. Is it possible to request that funds received from license plate sales 
be sent to a foundation for the benefi t of the applying non-profi t 
organization?
A.  Yes, but only if your organization’s proposal goes through the state’s 
offi cial specialty license plate vendor, My Plates.  If your organization 
chooses to go through the TxDMV process, a state agency must receive 
the proceeds.  The agency can then keep the proceeds, or send them to a 
qualifying recipient.

Q. Is the TxDMV, or My Plates, under an obligation to produce my 
specialty license plate design?
A.  No.  Every license plate design issued in the state of Texas must be ap-
proved by the TxDMV board. 

Proposing a 
Specialty License Plate

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles offers a 
number of license plates specifi cally for military veterans, 
military medal honorees, and their families.  Because 
these  qualifying license plates are issued under a military-
specifi c fee structure, new military-related license plates must be 
proposed and approved through the legislative process. 

The following table illustrates the types of military license plates 
currently offered, as well as the corresponding fees a qualifi ed 
recipient is required to pay upon registration, if any.  Persons 
wishing to create a license plate honoring members of the 
military should use this table as a guide when proposing the 
plate’s fee structure. 

* requires payment of regular registration fees.

Special Requirements for
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Plate Type First 
Set

Additional 
Sets

Replacement

Meritorious Service
Congressional Medal of Honor Free Free* Free
Legion of Valor: 
  Air Force Cross 
  Distinguished Flying Cross
  Distinguished Service Cross 
  Navy Cross

Free Free* Free

Legion of Merit Free Free* Free
Silver Star Free Free* Free

Recognition Award
Disabled Veteran 3.00 Free* 5.30
Former POW (Prisoner of War) 3.00 Free* 5.30
Pearl Harbor Survivor 3.00 Free* 5.30
Purple Heart 3.00 Free* 5.30

Military Service
World War II, Korea, Vietnam,   
Operations Iraqi Freedom, Endur-
ing Freedom, and Desert Storm**

Free* Free* 5.30

US Air Force Free* Free* 5.30
US Army Free* Free* 5.30
US Coast Guard Free* Free* 5.30
US Marine Corps Free* Free* 5.30
US Navy Free* Free* 5.30
Coast Guard Auxiliary Free* Free* 5.30
Armed Forces Reserve Free* Free* 5.30
Military Academy Graduates
  US Air Force Academy
  US Military Academy West Point
  US Naval Academy

Free* Free* 5.30

Airborne Parachutist Free* Free* 5.30
Marine Corps League Free* Free* 5.30
Texas Guard (National or State) Free* Free* 5.30
Texas Wing Civil Air Patrol Free* Free* 5.30

Other
Gold Star Mother 10.00* N/A 5.30
Gold Star Family 10.00* N/A 5.30
Gold Star Spouse 10.00* N/A 5.30

** Desert Shield also qualifi es for this plate


