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OVERVIEW

Over the years, the Texas Legislature 
established several memorial sign 
programs to honor certain individuals, 
places, or organizations in the state. 
Examples include designating a 
highway in honor of a public safety 
officer killed in the line of duty, 
memorializing a loved one killed by a 
drunk driver, or recognizing volunteers 
who help keep our roadways clean and 
beautiful.

Signs like these are common in Texas 
and most of us have seen them 
along the highway during our travels. 
Knowing that the Texas Department of 
Transportation’s (TxDOT) top priorities 
are focusing limited taxpayer dollars 
on highway safety and maintenance, 
reducing congestion, and connecting 
Texas communities, the Legislature 
requires outside resources to cover 
the costs of constructing and installing 
these signs.  

Each program is unique, and the costs 
for signs vary. Listed below are the 
instructions, forms, and applications 
needed to begin each sign program 
process.

MEMORIAL SIGNS FOR 
VICTIMS OF IMPAIRED 
DRIVING

Impaired driving continues to be a 
serious problem in Texas and one that 
results in hundreds of traffic deaths 
each year. In 2007, the Legislature 
created the Memorial Sign Program 
for Victims of Impaired Driving. This 
program allows family or friends the 
opportunity to purchase a sign to 
commemorate a victim or victims of 
drunk or drugged driving. These signs 
also help raise awareness about the 

sign after the two-year period, the sign 
will be recycled. 

Application

Once an applicant has determined 
eligibility, they must apply to 
purchase the sign through TxDOT. 
The application can be found on 
TxDOT’s website and must contain the 
following information: 

•	 Applicant name and contact 
information

•	 Victim(s’) name(s)
•	 Crash date and location
•	 Name of one of the vehicle 

operators involved in the crash
•	 A copy of the crash report attached 

to your application, if you wish to 
expedite processing (optional) 

In addition, a completed form may be 
faxed to (512) 416-3214 or mailed to:

Texas Department of Transportation
Traffic Operations Division
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483

Sign Cost

The cost to the applicant is $350, 
payable to TxDOT after the application 
has been approved. The sign will be 
installed only after payment of the 
fee, which defrays the cost of the 
personalized sign panel.  If the sign is 
damaged or vandalized, the applicant 
will have to pay an additional $350 fee 
to have the sign reinstalled.

MEMORIAL SIGNS FOR 
VICTIMS OF MOTORCYCLE 
CRASHES

Motorcycle safety is another serious 
issue in Texas. In 2013, there were 
494 motorcyclists (operators and 
passengers) killed. The Memorial Sign 

serious and tragic consequences of 
driving under the influence of alcohol 
or drugs.

Eligibility Requirements

•	 A police officer’s crash report or 
another government document 
indicating that drugs or alcohol 
were factors in the fatal crash.

•	 The crash must have occurred on 
the state highway system.

•	 The victim must not have been 
impaired by drugs or alcohol while 
operating a vehicle.

Sign Location and Display

TxDOT will install a memorial sign as 
close as practical to the location of the 
crash. Final placement will be based 

on traffic safety and space availability 
along the right of way. Each memorial 
sign will have a blue background and a 
white legend.

Per the Texas Transportation Code, 
an installed sign may remain in place 
for two years. At the end of this time, 
it will be removed and offered to the 
applicant. The applicant will have 30 
days from the time contacted to make 
arrangements to pick up the sign. If 
the applicant chooses not to keep the 
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Application

Once an applicant has determined 
eligibility, they must apply for the sign 
through TxDOT. The application can be 
found on TxDOT’s website and must 
contain the following information: 

•	 Applicant name and contact 
information

•	 Victim(s’) name(s)
•	 Crash date and location
•	 Name of one of the vehicle 

operators involved in the crash
•	 A copy of the crash report attached 

to your application, if you wish to 
expedite processing (optional)

In addition, a completed form may be 
faxed to (512) 416-3214 or mailed to:

Texas Department of Transportation
Traffic Operations Division
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483

Sign Cost

The cost to the applicant for a 
Memorial Sign for Victims of 
Motorcycle Crashes is $350, payable to 
TxDOT after the application has been 
approved. The sign will be installed 
only after payment of the fee, which 
defrays the cost of the personalized 
sign panel. If the sign is damaged or 
vandalized, the applicant will have to 
pay an additional $350 fee to have the 
sign reinstalled.

DESIGNATED MEMORIAL 
HIGHWAYS

TxDOT is prohibited from officially 
naming any portion of the state 

Program for Victims of Motorcycle 
Crashes, which was created in 2011, 
allows family or friends of persons 
killed while riding or operating 
a motorcycle the opportunity to 
purchase a memorial sign.

Eligibility Requirements

•	 A police officer’s crash report or 
another government document 
indicating that the person was 
killed while operating or riding on a 
motorcycle.

•	 The crash must have occurred on 
the state highway system.

Sign Location and Display

TxDOT will install the sign as close as 
practical to the location of the crash. 
Final placement will be based on traffic 
safety and space availability along 
the right of way. Each sign will have a 
blue background and a white legend 
displaying a red cross, the victim’s 
name and the date of the crash. 

Per the Texas Transportation Code, an 
installed motorcycle memorial sign 
will remain in place for one year. At 
the end of this time, it will be removed 
and offered to the applicant. The 
applicant will have 30 days from the 
time contacted to make arrangements 
to pick up the sign. If the applicant 
chooses to not keep the sign after 
the one-year period, the sign will be 
recycled. 

highway system with anything other 
than the regular highway number.

However, portions of the state 
highway system may be designated 
as a named or memorial highway by 
state legislation, local ordinance or 
resolution. When state or local law 
names or memorializes a portion of 
the state highway system, costs for the 
signs are paid by grant or donation to 
the state highway fund to help defray 
the costs of the signs. 

Legislative Process

A member of the state Senate or 
House of Representatives may 
designate a memorial highway through 
legislation. Once a bill is passed by 
the House and Senate and signed into 
law by the governor, the legislative 
sponsor should contact TxDOT’s state 
legislative affairs office to begin the 
process of acquiring and installing the 
signs. The sign will be installed only 
after payment for the sign is received. 

Local Process

State law also grants local 
governments the authority to apply 
a memorial or other designation 
to the state highway system.  Local 
governments must provide TxDOT an 
authorizing resolution or municipal 
ordinance and a proposed sign 
location.  The size, type and location 
of the sign must be approved by 
the department.  The sign will be 
installed only after payment for the 
sign is received. Local government is 
responsible for future maintenance of 
the sign.
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Who Can Adopt

Individuals, families, youth 
organizations, businesses (large and 
small), governmental entities, civic 
and non-profit organizations, religious 
groups, fraternities, sororities, schools, 
and any other approved groups who 
want to keep our state litter-free may 
adopt a highway. 

Program Rules

The rules are simple:

•	 Adopt a two-mile stretch of 
highway for a minimum of two 
years.

•	 The applicant agrees to pick up 
litter four times per year (more 
in some areas due to high traffic 
volumes). 

•	 Adopt-a-Highway signs will be 
posted with the individual’s or 
group name at each end of the 
adopted section.

•	 TxDOT will provide volunteers with 
traffic control signs, safety vests, 
litterbags, and safety information.

Adopt-A-Highway is a free and easy 
way for citizens to make a visible 
impact on their community and show 
some well deserved Texas Pride.

In both instances, TxDOT is required to 
follow certain federal and state rules 
regarding where signs may be placed, 
what may be displayed on the sign 
and how many signs may be erected. 
Not following the guidelines outlined 
below puts the state at risk of losing 
federal transportation dollars.

Eligibility Requirements

•	 To avoid distracting drivers or 
cluttering the highway with too 
many signs, legislators and local 
officials should first consider 
designating rest areas, scenic 
overlooks, recreational areas or 
other locations where parking is 
provided for travelers.

•	 The highway or structure to be 
named must be part of the state 
highway system and within TxDOT 
jurisdiction (unless named by local 
ordinance).

•	 The highway or structure should 
not have a prior designation.

•	 The highway or structure may 
be named only after a deceased 
person who was significant in the 
state’s history or in the lives of 
Texans.

Sign Location

•	 One sign is allowed on each end of 
the designated route.

•	 Intermediate signs must be spaced 
at least 75 miles apart.

•	 Signs may only be located on the 
designated route, not on cross 
streets or intersecting highways.

Sign Display

•	 The sign will be rectangular in shape 
with a brown background and white 
legend and borders.

•	 The route number or officially 
mapped name should be displayed. 

•	 The legend displayed on signs is 
limited to the person’s name and 
a simple message following the 
name, such as “Memorial Parkway.”

▫▫ Biographical information is not 
allowed.

▫▫ Decorative or graphical 
elements, pictographs, logos 
or symbols are not allowed.

Sign Costs

•	 A donor is required to cover the 
cost to design, fabricate and install 
memorial designation signs.

•	 When a donor has committed to 
funding the project, TxDOT will 
enter into an agreement with them 
and install the signs.

•	 The cost of a sign will vary based on 
its size, the number of characters 
displayed on the sign and where 
the sign is located (larger highways 
require larger signs and more 
foundational support). 

•	 Signs may cost anywhere between 
$1,000 and $20,000 per sign.

ADOPT-A-HIGHWAY

As the population of the Texas 
continues to grow, the state can expect 
more vehicles, increased traffic, and 
more litter. The Adopt-a-Highway 
program was created to give citizens 
an opportunity to be active partners in 
keeping Texas beautiful. The program 
began in Texas in 1985 and continues 
to grow nationwide, saving taxpayer’s 
money and keeping our highways free 
of litter. This Texas-born program has 
spread to 49 states, Canada, Great 
Britain, Japan, New Zealand, Australia, 
and Mexico.  
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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

MISSION STATEMENT
Work with others to provide safe and reliable transportation solutions for Texas. 

GOALS
•	 Maintain a safe system

•	 Address congestion

•	 Connect Texas communities

•	 Become best-in-class state agency

VALUES
•	 Trust

•	 Integrity

•	 Responsibility

•	 Excellence

•	 Service
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